Barry Harris Barry Harris at the Jazz Workshop (Live)

Barry Harris at the Jazz Workshop (Live)
4 ratings
17 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  DQ46
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: OJC

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 1960
4 Stars - Very Good - "..Throughout the tracks, Harris plays with a deceptive ease, great imagination, and essential grace that marks him as one of the giants of modern jazz piano. The record is most welcome.."


  • 1.Is You Is Or Is You Ain't My Baby? - (take 2)
  • 2.Is You Is Or Is You Ain't My Baby - (previously unreleased, take 1, bonus track)
  • 3.Curtain Call
  • 4.Star Eyes
  • 5.Moose The Mooche
  • 6.Lolita
  • 7.Morning Coffee
  • 8.Don't Blame Me - (take 2)
  • 9.Don't Blame Me - (previously unreleased, take 1, bonus track)
  • 10.Woody'n You - (take 2)
  • 11.Woody'n You - (previously unreleased, take 1, bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Barry Harris (piano); Sam Jones (bass); Louis Hayes (drums).
Recorded live at The Jazz Workshop, San Francisco, California on May 15 & 16, 1960. Originally released on Riverside (1177). Includes liner notes by Orrin Keepnews.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1992, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Barry Harris (piano); Louis Hayes (drums).
Liner Note Author: Orrin Keepnews.
Recording information: The Jazz Workshop, San Francisco, CA (05/15/1960/05/16/1960).
Photographer: Jerry Stoll.
Pianist Barry Harris' second recording as a leader (he led a set for Argo in 1958) finds him at the age of 30 playing in the same boppish style he would have throughout his career. Teamed up with bassist Sam Jones and drummer Louis Hayes, this live CD reissue (which adds three alternate takes to the original LP program) is an excellent example of Harris' playing. Highlights of the enthusiastic straight-ahead set (which includes three obscure but worthy originals by the pianist) include "Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby," "Moose the Mooche" and "Woody'N You." ~ [Barry Harris at the Jazz Workshop was reissued on CD in 2006 and includes bonus tracks.] Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Barry Harris

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 100,560
  • UPC: 025218620826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm