1 rating
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  DQ39
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 26, 2004
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.Pisces
  • 2.Midnight Sun
  • 3.Willow Weep for Me
  • 4.Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
  • 5.What Is There to Say?
  • 6.She's Funny That Way
  • 7.Yesterdays
  • 8.Sophisticated Lady
  • 9.Willow Weep for Me [Alternate Take]
  • 10.She's Funny That Way [Alternate Take]
  • 11.Sophisticated Lady [Alternate Take]
  • 12.What Is There to Say? [Alternate Take]

Product Description:

When Johnny Griffin and Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis entered a New York studio with producer Orrin Keepnews on May 3, 1962, they did some things that were unusual for the two-tenor team. They played mostly ballads, they didn't engage in any tenor battles and -- most surprising of all -- they didn't perform together on any of the tunes. Griffin was featured on four songs, Davis on another four. The same rhythm section -- Horace Parlan, bassist Buddy Catlett and drummer Art Taylor -- was always present, but Parlan played piano on the songs featuring Griffin and celeste on the songs featuring Davis. For whatever reason, the performances remained in the can for 42 years; they weren't even mastered until 1966, and they finally saw the light of day when Fantasy released Pisces in 2004. Pisces begs the following question: why, in God's name, would two saxmen who had as strong a rapport as Griffin and Davis not perform together when they were in the studio at the same time? Emphasizing ballads was an excellent idea, but wouldn't it have made more sense for them to do it as co-leaders of a quintet? According to jazz critic Larry Hollis -- who wrote Pisces' informative liner notes -- Griffin and Davis' decision to play separately had to do with the fact that they "didn't want to be stereotyped as merely a two-tenor team." In any event, both saxmen are in good form on this CD, which is enjoyable whether the soloist is Griffin on "Willow Weep for Me" and Duke Ellington's "Sophisticated Lady" or Davis on "Midnight Sun" and "Yesterdays." For Griffin and Davis, deciding to play separately on May 3, 1962 was probably a mistake; even so, Pisces is a noteworthy (if less than essential) album that shouldn't have gone unreleased for so long. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Griffin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,681
  • UPC: 025218710428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)