Slowdive Pygmalion (2-CD)

Pygmalion (2-CD)
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $19.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $3.25 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  35YQ6
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 16, 2010
  • Label: Cherry Red UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.86
5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] masterpiece. Rutti's chiming, warm guitar and almost IN A SILENT WAY-era Miles Davis-like percussion is just gorgeous..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rutti
  • 2.Crazy for You
  • 3.Miranda
  • 4.Trellisaze
  • 5.Cello
  • 6.J's Heaven
  • 7.Visions of La
  • 8.Blue Skied an' Clear
  • 9.All of Us

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Miranda
  • 2.Watch Me
  • 3.Yesterday
  • 4.To Watch
  • 5.Option One
  • 6.Cargo
  • 7.Sinewaves
  • 8.Ambient Guitar
  • 9.Crazy for You [Alternate Version]
  • 10.Prautrock
  • 11.Changes
  • 12.Red Five

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Andy Pearce.
Liner Note Author: Kieron Tyler.
Recording information: Courtyard Studio, Sutton Courtenay, NR Abingdon.
Pygmalion is the most abstract of Slowdive's albums; after moving from the sugary pop of Just for a Day to the more mature and more experimental Souvlaki, the band began to incorporate even more elements of ambient electronica -- drum loops, samples, and songs even less tangible than on previous releases. There seem to be two prevailing opinions of the album, among Slowdive fans: either (a) it's disappointingly "out there," since it doesn't work with the conventional pop underlying the sounds of Souvlaki, or (b) it's absolutely brilliant, taking their sound into the realms it was always destined to go. The second opinion seems a little more reasonable; tracks like "Blue Skied an' Clear" and "Crazy for You" demonstrate that the songs are still in there, somewhere -- they're just buried under more abstract sounds than before. The album is not for those seeking a direct and solid song under the surface -- but for anyone who appreciates the indirect and intangible, it's a stylistic masterpiece. ~ Nitsuh Abebe

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Slowdive

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929146327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)