Nina Simone Original Album Classics (5-CD)

Original Album Classics (5-CD)
1 rating
16 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.65 Limited Time Only
List Price: $27.99
You Save: $3.34 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  35YKR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: September 28, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Sony BMG Europe

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.In the Morning - (live)
  • 2.Sunday In Savannah - (live)
  • 3.Backlash Blues - (live)
  • 4.Please Read Me - (live)
  • 5.Gin House Blues - (live)
  • 6.Why? (the King of Love is Dead) - (live)
  • 7.Peace of Mind - (live)
  • 8.Ain't Got No / I Got Life [From the Broadway Musical "Hair"] - (live)
  • 9.I Loves You Porgy [From "Porgy and Bess"] - (live)
  • 10.Take My Hand Precious Lord - (live)
  • 11.Do What You Gotta Do - (live)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Suzanne
  • 2.Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There is a Season)
  • 3.Revolution, Part 1
  • 4.Revolution, Part 2
  • 5.To Love Somebody
  • 6.I Shall Be Released
  • 7.I Can't See Nobody
  • 8.Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
  • 9.The Times They Are a-Changin'

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Introduction - (live)
  • 2.Black is the Color of My True Love's Hair - (live)
  • 3.Ain't Got No / I Got Life - (live)
  • 4.Westwind - (live)
  • 5.Who Knows Where the Time Goes - (live)
  • 6.Assignment Sequence, The - (live)
  • 7.To Be Young, Gifted and Black - (live)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Pusher
  • 2.Com' By H'yere / Good Lord
  • 3.Funkier Than a Mosquito's Tweeter
  • 4.Mr. Bojangles
  • 5.I Want a Little Sugar In My Bowl
  • 6.Dambala
  • 7.Let It Be Me
  • 8.Obeah Woman

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Seems I'm Never Tired Lovin' You
  • 2.Nobody's Fault But Mine
  • 3.I Think It's Going To Rain Today
  • 4.Everyone's Gone To the Moon
  • 5.Compensation
  • 6.Who Am I
  • 7.Another Spring
  • 8.The Human Touch
  • 9.I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes)
  • 10.The Desperate Ones
  • 11.Music For Lovers
  • 12.In Love In Vain
  • 13.I'll Look Around
  • 14.The Man With the Horn

Product Description:

Personnel: Avram Schackman (acoustic guitar, Spanish guitar, sitar); Nadi Qamar (harp).
Audio Remixers: Ed Begley; Bruce Somerfeld.
Liner Note Authors: Tom Reed; Claude Hall.
Recording information: RCA's Studio B, New York, NY; Westbury Music Fair.
Photographers: Jim Bell; Jack Robinson; Joseph Dylewski.
Arrangers: Horace Ott; Nina Simone.
The Original Album Classics series by Sony BMG in Germany is an attempt to clear shelves of catalog titles that are lying about, but it inadvertently provides a great opportunity for those who have developed a sincere interest in an artist or band via a greatest-hits comp but have yet to score any actual titles, or for hardcore fans looking to fill in holes in their CD collections. These budget-priced, (loosely) chronologically compiled, completely remastered collections feature full-length albums -- in this case the five of the last seven albums from Nina Simone's RCA period: 'Nuff Said! (1968), Nina Simone and Piano! (1969) To Love Somebody (1969), Black Gold (1970), and It Is Finished (1974). What is missing here chronologically are two records: Here Comes the Sun, issued in 1971, and her classic, Emergency Ward!: In Concert album from 1972. The records contained in this slipcase box are, for many, a mixed bag, as Simone was branching out into much more adventurous terrain and simultaneously interpreting pop songs of the era in her own inimitable way. These are for the seasoned Simone fans who are well aware of her unpredictability and can celebrate it. For the novice who might be looking for more than a best-of, try her Colpix or Philips sides first for context. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Nina Simone

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 109,418
  • UPC: 886975692323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)