The Undertones True Confessions (Singles = A's & B's) (2-CD)

True Confessions (Singles = A's & B's) (2-CD)
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $17.99
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.31 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $6.68 (33% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  352G9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 4, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Salvo

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut (magazine) - p.95
4 stars out of 5 -- "In the 1980s, the band changed track, and left their three-chord wonders behind, to create more sophisticated pop like 'Wednesday Week' and 'Julie Ocean'."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Teenage Kicks
  • 2.True Confessions
  • 3.Smarter Than You
  • 4.Emergency Cases
  • 5.Get Over You
  • 6.Really Really
  • 7.She Can Only Say No
  • 8.Jimmy Jimmy
  • 9.Mars Bars
  • 10.Here Comes the Summer
  • 11.One Way Love
  • 12.Top Twenty
  • 13.You've Got My Number (Why Don't You Use It!)
  • 14.Let's Talk About Girls
  • 15.My Perfect Cousin
  • 16.Hard Luck (Again)
  • 17.I Don't Wanna See (You Again)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Wednesday Week
  • 2.I Told You So
  • 3.It's Going To Happen
  • 4.Fairly In the Money Now
  • 5.Julie Ocean
  • 6.Kiss In the Dark
  • 7.Beautiful Friend
  • 8.Life's Too Easy
  • 9.The Love Parade
  • 10.Like That
  • 11.Got To Have You Back
  • 12.Turning Blue
  • 13.Bye Bye Baby Blue
  • 14.Chain of Love
  • 15.Window Shopping For New Clothes

Product Description:

Recorded between 1978 & 1983. Includes liner notes by Paul Lester.
Liner Note Author: Michael Bradley.
Photographers: Fin Costello; Larry Doherty.
Though they were hardly U2 in terms of mass appeal, the Undertones were one of the most important bands to come out of Ireland in the New Wave era. Like the Buzzcocks, they started out combining punky energy with poppy hooks and melodies. Feargal Sharkey's unique, high, tremulous voice and guitarist Damian O'Neill's sharp songwriting put them leagues ahead of most of their peers. Their brief but productive career is expertly chronicled here.
Their first single, "Teenage Kicks," was one of the seminal pop-punk records of the late 1970s. Many of the band's early songs took a fresh perspective on the familiar travails of young adulthood. As they moved along, though, the Undertones matured by leaps and bounds, as heard here on the likes of "It's Going to Happen" and "Julie Ocean." Their last efforts incorporated a strong pop-soul flavor, and foreshadowed Sharkey's solo attempts at pop stardom, but ultimately this collection shows that the Undertones never made a real misstep, and often produced sparkling gems that still shine as brightly as ever.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Undertones

Product Info

  • UPC: 698458992123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)