Claude Thornhill The 1946-1947 Performances, Volume 1

The 1946-1947 Performances, Volume 1
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $13.49
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  X6E7
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 21, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Hep Records


  • 1.Twilight Song
  • 2.Under the Willow Tree
  • 3.Arab Dance
  • 4.Your's Is My Heart Alone
  • 5.If You Were the Only Girl in the World
  • 6.It's a Pity to Say Goodnight
  • 7.Twilight on the Trail
  • 8.Gotta Get Me Somebody to Love
  • 9.So Would I
  • 10.Sonata
  • 11.This Time
  • 12.I Knew You When
  • 13.Far Away Island
  • 14.I Get the Blues When It Rains
  • 15.Why Did I Have to Fall in Love with You?
  • 16.A Sunday Kind of Love
  • 17.We Knew It All the Time
  • 18.Would You Believe Me
  • 19.You're Not So Easy to Forget
  • 20.Just Plain Love
  • 21.Early Autumn
  • 22.Paloma, La
  • 23.Oh You Beautiful Doll
  • 24.Warsaw Concerto

Product Description:

Personnel: Claude Thornhill (piano); Fran Warren (vocals); Barry Galbraith (guitar); Bill Glover (flute, alto saxophone); Victor Harris, James Gemus (flute); Ted Goddard, Jack Ferrier (clarinet, alto saxophone); Mickey Folus (clarinet, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Joe Aglora, Jack DuLong, Bill Bushey, John Hefti, Mario Rollo, Danny Polo (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Bob Walters (clarinet); Lesley Mitchell Clarke (alto saxophone); Carl Swift (tenor saxophone); Barney Spieler, Iggy Shevak (baritone saxophone); Clarence Willard, Louis Mucci, Emil Terry, Eddie Zandy, Jake Koven (trumpet); Al Antonucci, Walter Welscher, Frederick Schmidt, Sandy Siegelstein (flugelhorn); Tasso Harris, Allan Langstaff, John Torick, Tak Takvorian, Jerry Rosa, Bob Jenney (trombone); Billy Ray Barber (tuba); Bill Exiner, Billy Exner, Irving Cottler (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Ted Kendall.
Liner Note Author: Loren Schoenberg.
Recording information: New York, NY (06/09/1946-06/30/1947).
Arrangers: Claude Thornhill; Bill Borden; Gil Evans.
During the mid- to late '40s, pianist Claude Thornhill led an orchestra that specialized in accessible instrumental mood music, sweet pop vocals, and (largely thanks to the creative sensibilities of arranger Gil Evans) beautifully orchestrated compositions associated with the latest developments in modern jazz. The Hep label has dedicated more than half-a-dozen CD compilations to Thornhill's musical legacy. Released in 2003, The 1946-47 Performances, Vol. 1 is almost entirely devoted to the sweet strata with vocals by Fran Warren, Buddy Hughes, and Gene Williams. Instrumental treats include Richard Addinsell's "Warsaw Concerto" and extended treatments of "La Paloma" and the "Arab Dance" from Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite. Those itchy for a taste of the big-band bop aesthetic should go directly to The 1946-47 Performances, Vol. 2. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Claude Thornhill

Product Info

  • UPC: 603366007227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)