Faithless Sunday 8pm

Sunday 8pm
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X6CC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Cheeky / Sbme

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/12/98, p.119
"...a record of languorous grooves, soft beats and sparse computer effects. For this British quintet, a mere tempo change can signal a genre shift: from reggae dub to trip-hop and then to moody pop..."
Q - 11/98, p.116
3 stars (out of 5) - "...towering over the album is Maxi Jazz, rapping taut poetry over such bittersweet syphonies..."
Q - 12/99, p.156
3 stars out of 5 - "...palatable, articulate dance music situated midway between the smoky intimacy of Massive Attack and the podium at trance superclub Gatecrasher, with acoustic guitars and gospel thrown in for good measure..."
Mixmag - 1/99, p.49
Included in Mixmag's "Ten Best Albums of 98" - "...Rollo and friends keep the same formula: splice folky trip hop to boshing epic house..."


  • 1.The Garden
  • 2.Bring My Family Back
  • 3.Hour of Need
  • 4.Postcards
  • 5.Take the Long Way Home
  • 6.Why Go?
  • 7.She's My Baby
  • 8.God is a Dj
  • 9.Hem of His Garment
  • 10.Sunday 8pm
  • 11.Killer's Lullaby
  • 12.Postcards [Rewritten Mix]
  • 13.God is a DJ (Yes He is)
  • 14.Thank You

Product Description:

Faithless: Jaime Catto (vocals, guitar); Maxi Jazz (vocals); Dave Randall (guitar); Sister Bliss (keyboards).
Additional personnel: Rachael Brown, Boy George, Dido (vocals); Paulie (guitar); Andy Gangadene (drums); Sudha (percussion); Rollo, Ibi Tijani (programming); DJ Swamp (scratches); Pauline Taylor, Imani Saleem, Shannon Stewart (background vocals).
Engineers: Phill Brown, Nick Kirkland, Goetz.
Recorded at Swanyard Studios, London, England. Includes liner notes by Rollo.
Personnel includes: Maxi Jazz (vocals, various instruments); Boy George, Dido, Pauline Taylor, Jamie Catto, Rachael Brown (vocals); Dave Randall (guitar); Sister Bliss (keyboards); DJ Swamp (scratches).
Recorded at Swanyard Studios, London, England.
Liner Note Author: Sheryl Garrett.
Faithless enhances its reputation as a purveyor of great music, dance or otherwise, demonstrating an uncommon ability to blend musical styles into a coherent album. Sunday 8PM is a very emotional record -- sometimes euphoric and confident, at other times paranoid and fragile. Vocalists play a large part in this. Boy George proves barely recognizable in his guest spot on the tender and pleading "Why Go?," while Faithless rapper Maxi Jazz offers such choice verbal cuts as the brooding "Bring My Family Back" and the uplifting Euro-house of "God Is a DJ." The instrumental tracks are no less effective. Sunday 8PM opens with a moment of lush, blissed-out piano music. The majestic "Take the Long Way Home," led by a gorgeous cello melody, is outstanding. (Another track even samples Erik Satie.) It all adds up to a revealing snapshot of musical trends at the turn of the century. ~ Rovi Staff

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Faithless

Product Info

  • UPC: 886970282420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)