Red Nichols Wail of the Winds

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HEP 1057

CD Details

  • Released: September 7, 1998
  • Label: Hep Records


  • 1.The Hour of Parting
  • 2.Our Love
  • 3.You're So Desirable
  • 4.The King Kong
  • 5.I Never Knew Heaven Could Speak
  • 6.Tears From My Inkwell
  • 7.Sassin' the Boss
  • 8.Poor Joulie Jean
  • 9.Davenport Blues
  • 10.Wail of the Winds (Theme Song)
  • 11.Hot Lips
  • 12.The Parade of the Pennies
  • 13.It's Way Past My Dreaming Time
  • 14.Address Unknown
  • 15.Poor Butterfly
  • 16.A Pretty Girl Is Like a Melody
  • 17.I Live Again (Because I'm in Love Again)
  • 18.You're the Greatest Discovery (Since 1492)
  • 19.My Melancholy Baby
  • 20.Robins and Roses
  • 21.Let Me Dream
  • 22.She Shall Have Music
  • 23.Overnight Hop
  • 24.Lowland Blues
  • 25.Meet Miss 8 Beat
  • 26.Beat Me Daddy, Eight to the Bar

Product Description:

Recorded in New York, New York from 1939 to 1940.
Personnel: Red Nichols (vocals, whistling, trumpet, cornet); Harry Jaeger (vocals, drums); Bill Darnell (vocals); Mike Bryan, Tony Colucci (guitar); Heine Beau, Billy Shepherd , Bobby Lee Jones, Bobby Jones (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Conn Humphreys, Harry Yolonsky, Ray Schultz (alto saxophone); Don Stevens, J. Douglas Wood (trumpet); Martin Croy, Robert Gebhart, Slim Wilbur, Al Mastren (trombone); Billy Maxted (piano); Victor Engle (drums).
Audio Remasterer: John R.T. Davies.
Recording information: New York, NY (03/12/1939-06/11/1940).
Director: Red Nichols.
Arranger: Billy Maxted.
Red Nichols & His Orchestra recorded ten obscure titles for Varsity in 1937 and then extensively for Bluebird in 1939, with four songs for Okeh in 1940. The Bluebird and Okeh dates have been reissued in full on this CD and it is quite a mixed bag. Many of the songs are saddled with Bill Darnell's vocals and some are just straight dance music rather than jazz. The only notable musicians in Nichols' outfit were pianist/arranger Billy Maxted and (in 1940) clarinetist Heinie Beau. However, there are some fine performances along the way, including Nichols' "The King Kong," "Davenport Blues," a swinging version of Henry Busse's "Hot Lips," "Poor Butterfly," "Overnight Hop," and Nichols' theme of the period, "Wail of the Winds." There is also a small-group session by the Five Pennies, although only "My Melancholy Baby" is a standout. But overall, the Red Nichols band was overshadowed by the many other more original jazz orchestras and they did not survive 1940. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Red Nichols

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 112,124
  • UPC: 603366105725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item