Freddie McGregor Di Captain

Di Captain
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  X69J
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 29, 2013
  • Label: VP Records


  • 1.Intro: Jenny Jenny
  • 2.Move Up Jamaica
  • 3.You Won't See Me
  • 4.Bag A Hype
  • 5.Africa
  • 6.More Love in the Ghetto
  • 7.Love I Believe In
  • 8.Rainbow Country
  • 9.Standing Strong - (featuring Gappy Ranks)
  • 10.Love Ballad
  • 11.There You Go
  • 12.My Story
  • 13.Let It Be Me - (featuring Etana)
  • 14.Jah Love Di Whole A Wi
  • 15.A House Is Not a Home
  • 16.Equal Rights

Product Description:

Photographer: Michael "Biggs" Burbridge.
On Di Captain's "Intro," Jamaican radio/television host Jenny Jenny gives a quick overview of singer Freddie McGregor's career, going back to his early-'60s rocksteady days and dropping a mention of "Big Ship," his pivotal hit. It was with that track that the rebel-saluting man who recorded "Bobby Bobylon" became a roots singer who also passionately delivered R&B, and later nailed lovers rock (1987's "Just Don't Want to Be Lonely" is a reggae standard) and bounced through the goofy ragga years like a pro (check 1994's "This Carry Go Bring Come" for sheer joy). It's why he's more than earned every genre swerve that this 2012 "comeback" album offers, and while this is an excellent way for material-starved fans to feast (it's his first full album in seven years, since he's been mentoring his way hip dancehall kids Stephen and Chino), it's a bit too stuffed and revue-minded to recommend to newcomers. McGregor regulars, on the other hand, get a wealth of grown folk's reggae, beginning with the warm and positive "Move Up Jamaica," an anthem for celebrating 50 years of independence. Later, there's a worthy redo of "Bobby Bobylon" dubbed "Standing Strong," with dancehall star Gappy Ranks supremely mashing it up, plus a slow, skanking take on "Rainbow Country" that's pure pleasure. "There You Go," "Let It Be Me," with the elegant Etana as guest, and a beautiful take on "A House Is Not a Home" give the album a winning trifecta of ballads, and with "Bag a Hype," McGregor offers the youths a poetic metaphor for the hollow life of a street hood. Even if it could have been sorted better, this has the warmth and wisdom McGregor fans adore with plenty of highlights to place on the legend's top shelf. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Freddie McGregor

Product Info

  • UPC: 054645195829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)