Slim Gaillard The Absolute Voutest! '46 (Live)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
1 rating
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  HEP 28
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: September 15, 1998
  • Label: Hep Records


  • 1.Body And Soul
  • 2.Four O'Clock Vout (One O'Clock Jump)
  • 3.Yep Roc Heresay
  • 4.Tee Say Malee
  • 5.Gaillard Special No. 1
  • 6.Poppity Pop
  • 7.Dynamite
  • 8.Caliente
  • 9.Take The A Train
  • 10.Groove Juice Special (Hit The Jive Jack)
  • 11.Groove Juice Special Pt. 2 (C Jam Blues)
  • 12.September In The Rain
  • 13.C Jam Blues Special
  • 14.Ya Ha Ha
  • 15.Yep Roc Heresay
  • 16.Eastwood Voutwood
  • 17.Cement Mixer
  • 18.Galliard Special No. 2

Product Description:

Recorded live at Billy Berg's club, Hollywood, California in 1946.
All tracks have been digitally remastered by John R.T. Davies.
Personnel: Slim Gaillard (vocals, guitar, piano); Bam Brown (vocals, baritone saxophone); The Two Majors and the Minor (guitar, baritone saxophone); Papa John Creach (violin); Willie Smith (alto saxophone); Bobby Hackett (trumpet); Harry "The Hipster" Gibson (piano); Leo Watson (drums).
Audio Remixer: John R.T. Davies.
Liner Note Authors: Alun Morgan; Alastair Robertson; Slim Gaillard.
Recording information: Billy Berg's Club, Hollywood, CA (12/1945-06/1946); Jubilee NBC Studio, Hollywood, CA (12/1945-06/1946); Los Angeles, CA (12/1945-06/1946).
Slim Gaillard had a strong cult following in the mid-1940s for his brand of swing, jive and eccentric comedy, which involved his own language. This set from Hep mostly consists of a live performance at Billy Berg's in June 1946 with Slim on piano and guitar, bassist Bam Brown (who plays a comic foil for Gaillard) and drummer Leo Watson; in addition, there are the soundtracks from two soundies filmed around that era with Scat Man Carruthers on drums. This valuable set gives one a strong example of what it was like to see Slim Gaillard perform live at his prime. Highlights include "Yep Roc Heresy," "Poppity Pop" and "Cement Mixer," but just hearing Gaillard ad-lib makes it all worthwhile. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Slim Gaillard

Product Info:

  • UPC: 603366002826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item