Billy Butterfield Pandora's Box: 1946-1947

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  HEP 49
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: October 17, 2000
  • Label: Hep Records


  • 1.Moten Swing
  • 2.Out of Nowhere
  • 3.All the Cats Join In
  • 4.This Believing World
  • 5.Cheatin' on Me
  • 6.What Is There to Say
  • 7.A Ghost of a Chance
  • 8.My Heart Stood Still
  • 9.I Only Have Eyes For You
  • 10.On a Sunday Afternoon
  • 11.The Song Is You
  • 12.Embraceable You
  • 13.Bidin' My Time
  • 14.More Than You Know
  • 15.Night and Day
  • 16.Pandora, Close That Box
  • 17.That Old Feeling
  • 18.Prelude to a Kiss
  • 19.Blue Moon
  • 20.Stormy Weather
  • 21.Yesterdays
  • 22.All the Things You Are
  • 23.You've Got Me Crying Again
  • 24.Sophisticated Lady
  • 25.Don't Blame Me

Product Description:

& His Orchestra.
Billy Butterfield & His Orchestra: Billy Butterfield (vocals, trumpet); Pay O'Connor (vocals); Bill Stegmeyer (alto saxophone, clarinet); Lenny Hambro, Earl Pearson (alto saxophone); Bill Cervantes, Bob Levine, Jimmy Hudgins (tenor saxophone); Bob Horner, Norman Elvin (baritone saxophone); Ferb Caron, Archie Johnston, Jack Stametz, Bob Peck (trumpet); Jack Green, Marshall Hawk, Earl Mahan, Sam Moore, Ken Schrudder, Ray Jenkins (trombone); Mickey Crane (piano); Cliff Wiley, Dave Reiser (guitar); George Ryan (bass); Bob Dickenson (drums).
Compilation producer: Alastair Robertson.
Recorded between August 1946 and May 1947. Includes liner notes by George T. Simon and Ian Crosbie.
Digitally remastered by John R. T. Davies.
A veteran of the Bob Crosby and Artie Shaw orchestras, trumpeter Billy Butterfield is heard leading his own well-oiled ensemble on this Hep sampler of fine big band recordings cut in 1946 and 1947. Butterfield's first band came together immediately after the Second World War and performed regularly at Eddie Condon's club in New York. The big band heard on this compilation represents the next step in his stylistic development; it's about as modern sounding as Butterfield would ever get. The song choices are beautifully rooted in the mingled traditions of jazz and mid-20th century pop music. "Moten Swing" is a tip of the hat to Kansas City bandleader Bennie Moten; "Prelude to a Kiss" and "Sophisticated Lady" are fundamental romantic standards from the Duke Ellington book, while handsome ballads like "My Heart Stood Still," "What Is There to Say?" "Night and Day" and "Embraceable You" are beautifully polished performances that place Butterfield in the same league with Bobby Hackett. On the lively "Pandora, Close That Box," Butterfield wails in a manner that instantly brings to mind the soaring trumpet of Roy Eldridge. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Billy Butterfield

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 121,313
  • UPC: 603366004929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item