Kay Starr The Ultimate Kay Starr

The Ultimate Kay Starr
Your Price: $30.43
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  J9AS
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: April 21, 2003
  • Label: EMI Import


  • 1.It Had To Be You - (studio)
  • 2.Lover Man - (studio)
  • 3.Crazy - (studio)
  • 4.Around The World - (studio)
  • 5.On The Street Where You Live - (studio)
  • 6.Walk On By - (studio)
  • 7.When A Man Loves A Woman - (studio)
  • 8.Nevertheless (I'm In Love With You) - (studio)
  • 9.Breezin Along With The Breeze - (studio)
  • 10.I've Grown Accustomed To His Face - (studio)
  • 11.Whispering Grass - (studio)
  • 12.Changing Partners - (studio)
  • 13.Am I A Toy Or A Treasure - (studio)
  • 14.Ghost Riders In The Sky - (studio)
  • 15.Singing The Blues - (studio)
  • 16.Comes Along A Love - (studio)
  • 17.Get Me To The Church On Time - (studio)
  • 18.If You Love Me (Really Love Me) - (studio)
  • 19.Side By Side - (studio)
  • 20.On A Slow Boat To China - (studio)
  • 21.Baby Won't You Please Come Home - (studio)
  • 22.I'm The Lonesomest Gal In Town - (studio)
  • 23.Rock N Roll Waltz - (studio)
  • 24.Wheel Of Fortune - (studio)

Product Description:

Pop vocalist Kay Starr rose to prominence in the late 1940s and early 1950s. THE ULTIMATE KAY STARR is a 24-track compilation that showcases Starr's memorable voice, including "Get Me To The Church On Time," "Walk On By," and "I've Grown Accustomed To His Face."
British import.
The Ultimate Kay Starr, British EMI's collection of Kay Starr material from her lengthy Capitol years, presents a solid track selection, though annotation errors abound and the compilers attempt to pass off Capitol versions of her biggest hits -- "The Rock & Roll Waltz," "Wheel of Fortune" -- as the real things. Starr's Capitol recordings were generally excellent, brassy sides, angling toward the pop audience but with plenty of power and swing to attract jazz fans. Although she usually charted with inoffensive pop covers like "Ghost Riders in the Sky," "Changing Partners," and "Singing the Blues," Starr sang dozens of superior songs as well: "On the Street Where You Live," "Side By Side," "On a Slow Boat to China." She also showcases her Billie Holiday influence with versions of "Lover Man" and "When a Woman Loves a Man." (The latter is accidentally listed as the Percy Sledge chestnut "When a Man Loves a Woman," and Starr's version of the Leroy Van Dyke country hit "Walk on By" is mistakenly attributed to Bacharach/David.) As for the perennials, "Wheel of Fortune" is a faithful remake (though still a remake) and "The Rock & Roll Waltz" comes complete with a chintzy synthesizer. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Kay Starr

Product Info:

  • UPC: 724358135022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item