Arild Andersen Electra

2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  QH3A
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: ECM Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Birth of the Universe
  • Buy for $1.292.Mourn
  • Buy for $1.293.The Big Lie
  • Buy for $1.294.Chorus I
  • Buy for $1.295.Electra Song Intro
  • Buy for $1.296.Electra Song
  • Buy for $1.297.Electra Song Outro
  • Buy for $1.298.Chorus II
  • 9.7th Background
  • Buy for $1.2910.One Note
  • Buy for $1.2911.Whispers
  • Buy for $1.2912.Divine Command
  • Buy for $1.2913.Clytaemnestras Entrance
  • Buy for $1.2914.Loud Sound
  • Buy for $1.2915.Chorus III
  • 16.Opening
  • Buy for $1.2917.Chorus IV
  • Buy for $1.2918.Big Bang

Product Description:

Personnel: Arild Andersen (double bass, drum programming); Arild Andersen; Patrice H‚ral (vocals, charango, drums, drum, bass drum, djembe, tabla, percussion); Elly Marina Casdas, Fotini Niki Grammenou (background vocals); Savina Yannatou, Chrysanthi Douzi (vocals); Eivind Aarset (guitar); Arve Henriksen (trumpet); Paolo Vinaccia (drums, cymbals, percussion); Nils Petter Molv‘r (drum programming).
Audio Mixers: K‘v Gliemann; Reidar Sk†r; Jock Loveband.
Recording information: 7. Etage, Oslo, Norway (2002-2003); Home (2002-2003); Kaev Studio, Copenhagen, Denmark (2002-2003); Les Productions De L'Erable, Montpellier, France (2002-2003); Spectrum Studio, Athens, Greece (2002-2003).
Photographers: Nils Bj†land; Ola E. Hofshagen; Christos Kotsireas; Marco DeLuca; Pete Heller.
Arild Andersen's Electra was composed for the Spring Theater in Athens for their production. These "18 Scenes," as they are subtitled, represent various cues and serial music for the production of Sophocles' deeply moving classic. Andersen collaborates with both European and Greek musicians here, among them the great vocalist Savina Yannatou, guitarist Eivind Aarset, drummer Patrice H‚ral, and trumpeter Arve Henriksen. The music is heavily arranged, taut, and spacious. Everything is understated yet utterly dramatic. Voices, drum programs -- courtesy of Andersen and Nils Petter Molv‘r -- brass, electric guitars, chorus, and solo voices are given direction by Andersen's bass and conducting, allowing a sort of musical story to emerge that not only informs but works independently of the dramatic work they accompany. This is spirit music. Its goes under the radar and slowly, purposefully enters the listener's unconscious and body, creating a space for impressions created by the emotions and unconscious. Like Peter Gabriel's score for The Last Temptation of Christ, the music here suggests more than it demands. It points ambiguously inward and is seductive by its subtlety. It's not "jazz," but then, it isn't anything else either, because it holds so much more inside than mere classification. This is simply a wondrous piece, darkly haunting, yet utterly beautiful for what it leaves out as much what is here. Given what Andersen has created here, the stage production was blessed. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Arild Andersen

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498243374
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)