Jack McVea McVoutie's Central Avenue Blues

McVoutie's Central Avenue Blues
2 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X6SQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 23, 2002
  • Label: Delmark


  • 1.Okay for Baby
  • 2.Listen Baby Blues
  • 3.Opus Boogie
  • 4.It Never Should Have Been This Way
  • 5.Gone With the Wind
  • 6.Baby, Look at You
  • 7.Don't Blame Me - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • 8.Boulevard Boogie
  • 9.Blues This Morning
  • 10.We're Together Again
  • 11.Naggin' Woman Blues
  • 12.The "G" Man Got the "T" Man
  • 13.Tarrant Blues
  • 14.Blues All Night - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.I Live True to You
  • 16.B Flat Boogie - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • 17.Then I've Got to Go - (previously unreleased)
  • 18.I'll Be True
  • 19.Wiggle Wiggle Woogie - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • 20.Love Will Get You Down - (previously unreleased)
  • 21.Hey Hey Hey Baby
  • 22.Don't Blame Me
  • 23.Okay for Baby - (previously unreleased, alternate take)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Jack McVea (alto & tenor saxophones); Rabon Tarrant (vocals, drums); Wynonie Harris, Duke Henderson, Cee Pee Johnson (vocals); Lucky Thompson, Wild Bill Moore (tenor saxophone); Bob Mosley (piano).
Compilation producers: Robert G. Koester, Steve Wagner.
Recorded in Los Angeles, California in 1945. Includes liner notes by Frank Driggs.
This is part of Delmark's Apollo series.
Personnel: Jack McVea (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Rabon Tarrant (vocals, drums); Duke Henderson, Cee Pee Johnson, Wynonie Harris (vocals); Gene Phillips (guitar); Gene Porter (clarinet); Jewell L. Grant, Edward Hale, Marshall Royal (alto saxophone); William B. Woodman, Jr., Lucky Thompson, Wild Bill Moore (tenor saxophone); Karl George, Teddy Buckner (trumpet); George "Happy" Johnson (trombone); Earl Brooks, Jimmy Shackleton, Bob Mosley , Wilbert Barranco (piano); R.J. Ross, Lee Young (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Frank Driggs; Bob Koester.
Recording information: 08/??/1945/12/04/1945.
Photographer: Tom Kelly .
Jack McVea sports a jacket, tie, and spectacles on the cover of McVoutie's Central Avenue Blues, looking more like a professor than a saxophonist. While he is most certainly the latter, his debonair appearance does mirror the smooth, elegant style of his horn. McVoutie's Central Avenue Blues captures the tenor/alto player in 1945 in a number of settings that mostly emphasize his R&B work. The other central figure of this disc is drummer/vocalist Rabon Tarrant, who joins McVea on 13 of the 23 tracks. Tarrant's powerful vocals on pieces like "Listen Baby Blues" and "Blues All Night" provide an agreeable contrast to McVea's silky saxophone. There's a bouncy take on "The 'G' Man Got the 'T' Man" with singer Cee Pee Johnson and a bizarre, risqu‚ piece titled "Wiggle Wiggle Woogie" with singer Duke Henderson. Although the singers and personnel vary quite a bit, the material gels together into a pretty uniform set. There are also three instrumentals -- one kicking off the album, the other two ending it -- that allow McVea a little more room to strut his stuff. In another year, the saxophonist would strike gold with "Open the Door, Richard" and forever be associated with R&B as opposed to jazz. McVoutie's Central Avenue Blues offers a fine assortment of the saxophonist's early R&B work. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jack McVea

Product Info

  • UPC: 038153075620
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)