Art Hodes Hodes' Art

Hodes' Art
1 rating
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X6KW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 31, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Delmark

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 10/95, p.63
4 Stars - Very Good - "...Hodes was gleefully unchanged by 'modern jazz'....shamelessly anachronistic....athletic, vigorous piano work....His lesson is clear: respect for tradition need not preclude having fun."
JazzTimes - 5/96, p.123
"...Hodes, though never flashy, always caught the groove....A tireless promoter of older styles including stride and blues, and yet receptive to bebop, this reprise of Hodes' sessions from 1968 and 1972 captures the pianist's patented joie de vivre..."


  • 1.Winin' Boy Blues
  • 2.Old Fashioned Love
  • 3.Blues Yesterday
  • 4.Ballin' The Jack
  • 5.Struttin' With Some Barbecue
  • 6.When My Sugar Walks Down The Street
  • 7.It's The Blues
  • 8.Winin' Boy Blues - (alternate take)
  • 9.Indiana
  • 10.Steady Roll
  • 11.Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • 12.If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Art Hodes (piano); Nappy Trottier (trumpet); George Brunis (trombone); Volly Defaut, Raymonde Burke (clarinet); Pops Foster (bass); Barrett Deems, Truck Parham, Pops Foster (drums).
Personnel: Art Hodes (piano); Raymond Burke, Voltaire de Faut (clarinet); Nappy Trottier (trumpet); Georg Brunis (trombone); Barrett Deems (drums).
Liner Note Author: Bob Koester.
Recording information: Sound Studios, Chicago, IL (10/22/1968-04/23/1972).
Photographer: Diane Allmen.
Opportunities for pianist Art Hodes to record in the 1960s were quite rare. In fact, other than a record documenting a concert, Hodes' entire output from 1963-70 was three albums cut for Delmark in 1968; traditional jazz was definitely out of style. This particular Delmark CD has brief moments from a variety of veteran greats. "When My Sugar Walks Down the Street" matches Hodes and his rhythm section with trombonist George Brunis, trumpeter Nappy Trottier and clarinetist Volly De Faut; the clarinetist (a veteran of the early '20s) also plays on "Struttin' With Some Barbeque." In addition to three piano-bass-drums trio numbers, Hodes is heard on six relaxed selections in a trio with clarinetist Raymond Burke (in good form) and veteran bassist Pops Foster. This music is historic and enjoyable. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Art Hodes

Product Info

  • UPC: 038153021320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)