The Bay City Jazz Band Alligator Crawl

Alligator Crawl
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  A7W3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 25, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Delmark


  • 1.1919 Rag
  • 2.Antigua Blues
  • 3.Come Back Sweet Papa
  • 4.Misery Blues
  • 5.Potato Head Blues
  • 6.London Blues
  • 7.Mabel's Dream
  • 8.You've Been A Good Ole Wagon
  • 9.Buddy's Habit
  • 10.See See Rider
  • 11.Alligator Crawl
  • 12.House of David Blues
  • 13.Riverside Blues
  • 14.Willie The Weeper
  • 15.Gulf Coast Blues
  • 16.Weary Blues

Product Description:

Bay City Jazz Band: Bob Neighbor, Everett Farey (trumpet); Jim Snyder (trombone); Mike Walbridge (tuba); John Boland (clarinet); Jack Kunci (banjo); John Cooper (piano); Lloyd Byassee (drums).
Additional personnel: Grana Louise (vocals).
Recorded at Riverside Studio, Chicago, Illinois on July 15-16, 2002.
Personnel: Jack Kuncl (banjo); John Boland (clarinet); Bob Neighbor, Everett Farey (trumpet); Jim Snyder (trombone); Mike Walbridge (tuba); John Cooper , John Cooper (piano); Lloyd Byassee (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Paige Van Vorst; Mike Walbridge.
Recording information: Riverside Studio, Chicago, IL (07/15/2002/07/16/2002).
Photographer: Raymond Salvatore Harmon.
The original Bay City Jazz Band lineup was only a footnote in the history of Dixieland; formed in 1955, the outfit recorded two LPs for Good Time Jazz (whose catalog is now owned by Fantasy) before breaking up in 1957. But they were an enjoyable footnote, and tuba player Mike Waldbridge (of Salty Dogs fame) thought enough of their work to assemble a new BCJB lineup 45 years after the original lineup's demise. In early 2002, Waldbridge recruited two members of the old '50s band (trumpeter Everett Farey and drummer Lloyd Byassee) and united them with several Dixieland veterans who had belonged to the Salty Dogs at some point, including trumpeter Bob Neighbor, banjo player Jack Kuncl, pianist John Cooper, and the late trombonist Jim Snyder. Waldbridge's new BCJB lineup recorded Alligator Crawl in July 2002 -- only five months before Snyder's death from lymphoma -- and this CD contains the trombonist's final recorded performances. Because Alligator Crawl only employs two members of the BCJB's '50s lineup, some Dixieland fans might wonder if perhaps this group should be using a different name. But, in fact, Alligator Crawl is quite faithful to the spirit of the old BCJB; '20s-minded performances of Jelly Roll Morton's "London Blues," Ma Rainey's "See See Rider," and Louis Armstrong's "Potato Head Blues" definitely pick up where the original BCJB left off in 1957. And who better to pay tribute to a '50s Dixieland revival band than several players who had been with the Salty Dogs over the years? After all, the Salty Dogs and the BCJB were kindred spirits in the '50s -- both were a throwback to Prohibition-era jazz. Alligator Crawl offers few surprises, but it's still a pleasing, if predictable, effort that die-hard Dixieland enthusiasts will enjoy. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Bay City Jazz Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 038153024222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)