Dave McKenna Double Play (With Scott Hamilton & Jake Hanna) (2-CD)

Double Play (With Scott Hamilton & Jake Hanna)
6 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  352Y6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Concord Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.But Not for Me
  • 2.If Dreams Come True
  • 3.Long Ago (And Far Away)
  • 4.Drum Boogie
  • 5.I Love You, Samantha
  • 6.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  • 7.Easy to Love
  • 8.Get Happy

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Swinging at the Copper Rail
  • 2.A Pretty Girl Is Like a Melody
  • 3.Cocktails for Two
  • 4.I'm Through With Love
  • 5.Linger Awhile
  • 6.September in the Rain
  • 7.This Is All I Ask
  • 8.It All Depends on You
  • 9.April in Paris

Product Description:

/Scott Hamilton/Jake Hanna.
DOUBLE PLAY contains 2 LPs on 2 CDs: NO BASS HIT (1979)/MAJOR LEAGUE (1986).
Personnel: Dave McKenna (piano, bass); Scott Hamilton (tenor saxophone); Jake Hanna (drums).
Recorded at Normandy Studios, Warren, Rhode Island and Continental Recording, Boston, Massachusetts in March 1979 & May 1986. Originally released on Concord (4097) & Concord (4305). Includes liner notes by Charlie Drago and Ken Franckling.
Personnel: Dave McKenna (piano); Scott Hamilton (tenor saxophone); Jake Hanna (drums).
Audio Remixers: Wil Morton; Phil Edwards .
Recording information: Contintental Recording, Boston, MA (03/1979-05/1986); Normandy Studios, Warren, RI (03/1979-05/1986).
Photographers: Bruce Burr; Dave Fischer.
Concord greatly enriched the revival of more traditional forms of jazz in the 1970s and 1980s when they bought together established players like pianist Dave McKenna and drummer Jake Hanna with new kids on the block like tenor Scott Hamilton. This bassless trio recorded No Bass Hit in 1979, then returned for an encore with Major League in 1986. The two-disc set Double Play re-introduces both titles while keeping the baseball metaphor intact. Quiet standards by the Gershwins and Cole Porter trade places with up-tempo delights like Gene Krupa and Roy Eldridge's "Drum Boogie." One might imagine missing the steady beat of the bass, but a cursory listen to "Easy to Love" verifies that this isn't the case. McKenna plays chords with one hand while keeping a steady bass rhythm with the other, assuring a solid beat even when he's playing lead. The band swings with vim and vigor on "Swinging at the Copper Rail" and "It All Depends on You," while offering relaxed versions of "I'm Through With Love" and "This Is All I Ask." Part of the joy of this band is their versatility, with Hamilton and McKenna exchanging lead lines or with Hanna kicking off a song with a snazzy drum roll. Double Play offers an hour and a half of excellent mainstream jazz and serves as a fine addition to the works of all the players involved. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dave McKenna

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431212324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)