Susannah McCorkle Someone to Watch Over Me: The Songs of George Gershwin

Someone to Watch Over Me: The Songs of George
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  352XK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Concord Records


  • Buy for $0.991.They Can't Take That Away From Me
  • Buy for $0.992.Who Cares?
  • Buy for $1.293.Someone To Watch Over Me
  • Buy for $0.994.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • Buy for $0.995.How Long Has This Been Going On?
  • Buy for $0.996.Intro: I Got Rhythm
  • Buy for $0.997.I Got Rhythm
  • Buy for $0.998.Love Walked In
  • Buy for $0.999.I Loves You Porgy
  • Buy for $0.9910.They All Laughed
  • Buy for $0.9911.Summertime
  • Buy for $0.9912.'S Wonderful
  • Buy for $0.9913.I Was Doing All Right
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Got Plenty O' Nuthin'
  • Buy for $0.9915.Will You Remember Me? / Drifting Along With The Tide

Product Description:

Full title: Someone To Watch Over Me-The Songs Of George Gershwin.
Personnel: Susannah McCorkle (vocals); Jerry Dodgion (alto saxophone, alto flute); Chris Potter (tenor saxophone, alto flute); Randy Sandke (trumpet, flugelhorn); Conrad Herwig (trombone); Allen Farnham (piano, synthesizer); Howard Alden (guitar); Steve Gilmore, Dick Sarpola (bass); Rich DeRosa (drums).
Recorded at Sound On Sound, New York, New York on October 21-22 & 24, 1997. Includes liner notes by Robert Kimball.
Personnel: Susannah McCorkle (vocals); Howard Alden (guitar); Chris Potter (alto flute, tenor saxophone); Randy Sandke (trumpet, flugelhorn); Conrad Herwig (trombone); Allen Farnham (piano, synthesizer); Richard DeRosa (drums).
Audio Mixer: Phil Edwards .
Liner Note Author: Robert Kimball.
Recording information: Sound on Sound, New York, NY (10/21/1997-10/24/1997).
Director: Allen Farnham.
Photographer: David Lubarsky.
Throughout her career, singer Susannah McCorkle recorded many "songbook" sets dedicated to the music of a particular composer or lyricist. She followed up sets of Cole Porter and Irving Berlin in 1997 with a full program of George Gershwin's music. On this CD, McCorkle performs 15 Gershwin songs in settings ranging from an octet that includes tenor saxophonist Chris Potter, trumpeter Randy Sandke, trombonist Conrad Herwig, and altoist Jerry Dodgion to duets with guitarist Howard Alden ("I Loves You, Porgy"), bassist Dick Sarpola ("I Was Doing All Right" and "Love Walked In"), and her musical director, pianist Allen Farnham (a medley of "Will You Remember Me?" and "Drifting Along with the Tide"). Even when singing such well-known tunes as the title cut, "How Long Has This Been Going On," "I Got Rhythm" (to which she adds an introduction explaining Ira Gershwin's method of coming up with lyrics), and "'S Wonderful," McCorkle comes up with fresh variations and subtle creativity. Although one wishes that she had unearthed more Gershwin obscurities, listeners should be grateful that Susannah McCorkle recorded a long string of easily recommended vocal jazz albums during her lifetime. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Susannah McCorkle

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,792
  • UPC: 013431479826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)