Susannah McCorkle Let's Face The Music: The Songs of Irving Berlin

Let's Face The Music: The Songs of Irving Berlin
8 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COJ 4759
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Concord Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 9/97, p.51
3.5 stars (out of 5) - "...a splendid, thoroughly entertaining album that takes some wonderful liberties with this chapter of the Great American Song Book....impeccable vocal phrasing and timing..."
JazzTimes - 8/97, p.111
"Susannah McCorkle is a special delight. At once up-town and breezily casual, her accessible sophistication is a wonder to behold....It's an insouciant date given shape by McCorkle's pianist/musical director Allen's a date to snuggle up with in front of a fire."


  • 1.I'd Rather Lead A Band
  • 2.Let's Face The Music And Dance
  • 3.Isn't This A Lovely Day (To Be Caught In The Rain)?
  • 4.Heat Wave
  • 5.How Deep Is The Ocean
  • 6.Everybody Knew But Me / When You Walked Out Someone Else Walked Right In
  • 7.There's No Business Like Show Business
  • 8.Cheek To Cheek
  • 9.Love And The Weather
  • 10.Supper Time
  • 11.You're Easy To Dance With / It Only Happens When I Dance With You
  • 12.Better Luck Next Time
  • 13.Let Yourself Go
  • 14.Waiting At The End Of The Road

Product Description:

Full title: Let's Face The Music - The Songs Of Irving Berlin.
Personnel: Susannah McCorkle (vocals); Jerry Dodgion (alto saxophone, flute); Chris Potter (tenor saxophone, alto flute, clarinet); Gregory Gisbert (trumpet, flugelhorn); Conrad Herwig (trombone); Allen Farnham (piano); Rich DeRosa (synthesizer, drums); Al Gafa (acoustic & electric guitars); Steve Gilmore (bass).
Recorded at Sound On Sound Studios, New York, New York from October 28-30, 1996. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
Personnel: Susannah McCorkle (vocals); Alexander Gafa (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Chris Potter (alto flute, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Greg Gisbert (trumpet, flugelhorn); Conrad Herwig (trombone); Allen Farnham (piano); Richard DeRosa (synthesizer, drums).
Audio Mixers: Gerry Volkersz; Alan Varner.
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Recording information: Sound On Sound Studios, N.Y., NY (10/28/1996/10/30/1996).
Director: Allen Farnham.
Photographers: Carlos Spaventa; Janet Sommer.
Arranger: Richard DeRosa.
Susannah McCorkle, who consistently brings out new meanings in the lyrics she interprets, performs 16 Irving Berlin songs (complete with verses and sometimes lesser-known stanzas) on this delightful set. There is solo space for trumpeter Gregory Gisbert, trombonist Conrad Herwig, young tenor great Chris Potter and altoist Jerry Dodgion; the arrangements by Rich DeRosa are surprisingly modern, and McCorkle is heard in prime form. Among the many highlights are a wistful rendition of "Let's Face the Music and Dance," and a sensuous "Cheek to Cheek," "Let Yourself Go," and a wonderful closer, a version of "Waiting at the End of the Road" on which the singer is accompanied only by the rhythm guitar of Al Gafa. Although this interpretation of "There's No Business Like Show Business" (greatly slowed down and surprisingly touching) is not quite as classic as McCorkle's version of a decade earlier, this is overall a highly recommended set by a superb singer. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Susannah McCorkle

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 116,397
  • UPC: 013431475927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)