Rob McConnell Play the Jazz Classics

Play the Jazz Classics
3 ratings
Price: $10.78
You Save: $0.20 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HYFW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Concord Records


  • Buy for $0.991.The Duke
  • 2.Invitation
  • 3.Autumn in New York
  • Buy for $0.994.A Child Is Born / Our Waltz
  • 5.Peace / Blue Silver
  • Buy for $0.996.Santa Claus Blues
  • Buy for $0.997.Pensativa
  • Buy for $0.998.Day Dream
  • 9.Sophisticated Lady
  • Buy for $0.9910.Li'l Darlin' (Don't Dream of Anybody But Me)

Product Description:

One of the final recordings by Rob McConnell & the Boss Brass for Concord, this pair of sessions focuses on favorite standards and timeless jazz compositions, with most of the arrangements by the leader, a fine valve trombonist to boot. Among the standards is a lively, typically Latin-flavored setting of "Invitation" and a lush treatment of "Autumn in New York" showcasing altoist John Johnson. The remainder of the disc focuses on works by jazz composers. McConnell shines in the gently swinging take of Dave Brubeck's "The Duke," while Horace Silver's "Peace" and Blue Mitchell's "Blue Silver" make up an intriguing medley. Guitarist Ed Bickert and tenorist Rick Wilkins are featured in a richly textured chart of "Pensativa," which was arranged by Wilkins. The dramatic setting of Billy Strayhorn's "Day Dream" contrasts with the playful take of Duke Ellington's "Sophisticated Lady," with the latter song briefly detouring into Thelonious Monk's "I Mean You." The recording wraps with a thoughtful salute to Count Basie by playing a deliberate rendition of Neal Hefti's "Li'l Darlin'," which became a signature tune for Basie not long after it was released. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Rob McConnell

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431478423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)