Horace Andy Broken Beats

Broken Beats
19% OFF
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $19.98
Sale Price: $17.98
CYBER SALE: $16.18 Limited Time Only
You Save: $3.80 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  ECHB 90
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for a Gift Card or an e-mail Gift Certificate

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Forcex


  • Buy for $0.991.Bad Man - (featuring Million Teeth)
  • Buy for $0.992.Changes
  • Buy for $0.993.Money Money
  • Buy for $0.994.She Say
  • Buy for $0.995.Skylarking
  • Buy for $0.996.Cuss Cuss
  • Buy for $0.997.Bad Man - (featuring Million Teeth)
  • Buy for $0.998.Wicked Babylon Must Go Down
  • Buy for $0.999.Bad Man [Dub Version] - (featuring Million Teeth)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Skylarking [Eva B's Dub Version]
  • Buy for $0.9911.Money Money [Dubblestandart Dub]
  • Buy for $0.9912.Bad Man [Dub by RSD AKA Rob Smith] - (featuring Million Teeth)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Cuss Cuss [Dub by Rob Smith AKA RSD]
  • Buy for $0.9914.Changes Dub [TVS Remix]
  • Buy for $0.9915.Skylarking

Product Description:

Tributee: Horace Andy.
Longtime lovers of dub and tasteful electronica, the Echo Beach label is a suitable place for a remix album of Horace Andy to land, but even with some well-chosen remixers, a strong set list, and a legendary reggae singer/Massive Attack collaborator all in place, Broken Beats does require some expectations adjustment. First off, Andy cut these vocals specifically for this project, meaning these versions of "Skylarking," "Cuss Cuss," and "Money Money" are new to begin with and not the roots-era recordings reggae fans cherish. The liner notes dismiss the use of those classic tracks as an idea that's "sooo nineties," and while Andy's high voice is still strong with that soft and delicate yet certain style fans adore, it just begs the question as to why a full new album was attempted with this fine set of producers. Give up on that pipe dream and listeners are faced with the redundancy factor, as songs are repeated in their remix, dub, and version versions, making this a better DJ tool than a front-to-back listen. Still, when Bristol producer Rob Smith gets ahold of "Cuss Cuss," it's a journey deep into the techno jungle that drum'n'bass fans will cherish, and when Oliver Frost and Eva B. mix the great "Skylarking" into echoing outer space, it's the Massive Attack and Mad Professor team-up all over again in terms of dub-hop greatness. Still, this is best consumed as if it were two or three EPs, so keep the remote handy and don't get couchlocked. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Horace Andy

Product Info:

  • UPC: 4047179720021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Reggae genre: