Buddy DeFranco Do Nothing Till You Here from Us

Do Nothing Till You Here from Us
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COJ 4851
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: May 10, 1999
  • Label: Concord Records


  • 1.Finegan's Walk
  • 2.Skinnin' Rabbits
  • 3.Lucky to Be Me
  • 4.Out of Nowhere
  • 5.You and the Night and the Music
  • 6.Something to Live For
  • 7.Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
  • 8.A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing
  • 9.Speak Low
  • 10.Oh, You Crazy Moon
  • 11.Gone with the Wind - (duet)
  • 12.Easy Living - (duet)

Product Description:

Personnel: Buddy DeFranco (clarinet); Dave McKenna (piano); Joe Cohn (guitar).
Recorded at Sound On Sound, New York, New York from July 12-15, 1998. Includes liner notes by Fred Bouchard.
Personnel: Buddy DeFranco (clarinet); Joe Cohn (guitar); Dave McKenna (piano).
Audio Mixer: Phil Edwards .
Liner Note Author: Fred Bouchard.
Recording information: Sound on Sound, New York, NY (07/12/1998-07/15/1998).
At 75, Buddy DeFranco still had all of his highly developed dexterity on the clarinet, and he still liked a challenge. So here, he can be heard with just the piano of Dave McKenna and the electric guitar of Joe Cohn in a swing-to-bop-flavored collection of ten standards and two DeFranco originals. A rare combination, to be sure, but one that poses no problems for these sensitive virtuosos, who listen to each other carefully and ground many of the numbers in a solid 4/4 swing foundation. Either McKenna or Cohn provide the basslines for the rapid numbers; McKenna's contrary-motion lines on DeFranco's rapid snapshot of Charlie Parker, "Skinnin' Rabbits," is remarkably deft. Ellington and alter ego Strayhorn are right at the center of the album with three consecutive numbers, "Something to Live For," "Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me," and "A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing" (McKenna deceptively opens the latter with Edward MacDowell's "To a Wild Rose"). On the last two tunes, "Gone with the Wind" and "Easy Living," Cohn drops out entirely and McKenna's playing takes on a fuller, more swinging cast in the former tune. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Buddy DeFranco

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 115,449
  • UPC: 013431485124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)