Monty Alexander Steaming Hot (2-CD)

Steaming Hot (2-CD)
1 rating
Price: $27.89
List Price: $30.99
You Save: $3.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  35X8G
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Freeloader
  • Buy for $0.992.Once I Loved
  • Buy for $0.993.Ray's Idea
  • Buy for $0.994.Because You're Mine
  • Buy for $0.995.I Can't Get No Satisfaction
  • Buy for $0.996.Happy Talk
  • Buy for $0.997.Estate
  • Buy for $0.998.Hi-Fly
  • Buy for $0.999.Just Friends

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Pure Imagination
  • Buy for $0.992.Just A Little Bit
  • Buy for $0.993.Dear Diz
  • 4.3000 Miles Ago
  • Buy for $0.995.Lively Up Yourself
  • Buy for $0.996.Make Believe
  • Buy for $0.997.I'll Never Stop Loving You
  • Buy for $0.998.Maybe September
  • Buy for $0.999.Tucker Avenue Stomp
  • Buy for $0.9910.Theme From The Pawnbroker
  • Buy for $0.9911.Honest I Do
  • Buy for $0.9912.When You Go
  • Buy for $0.9913.Young At Heart

Product Description:

STEAMING HOT contains FULL STEAM AHEAD (1985) and STEAMIN'(1995).
Personnel: Monty Alexander (piano); Ray Brown, Ira Coleman (bass); Frank Gant, Dion Parson (drums).
Personnel: Monty Alexander (piano); Frank Gant, Dion Parson (drums).
Audio Mixer: Alan Varner.
Liner Note Authors: Fred Bouchard; Gordon Raddue.
Recording information: Coast Recorders, San Francisco, CA (1985-1994); Sound on Sound Studios, New York, NY (1985-1994).
Steaming Hot serves as an appropriate title for the repackaging of two of pianist Monty Alexander's albums from 1985 and 1995, Full Steam Ahead and Steamin'. Both are trio sets, the first with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Frank Gant, the latter with bassist Ira Coleman and drummer Dion Parson, and serve as a complementary pair. These nice, spare settings give Alexander plenty of room to showcase his melodic style of straightforward jazz. He's aided by a set list that draws from familiar jazz standards like Miles Davis' "Freddie Freeloader" and Hammerstein & Kern's "Make Believe," but just as often draws from material outside the canon. Imagine, for example, a mainstream jazz band holding forth on Mick Jagger and Keith Richards' "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" or Bob Marley's "Lively Up Yourself." While these tracks may seem a bit out of left field, they sound -- in the hands of these trios -- like good jazz. These tracks also keep the listener's attention. On Steamin', Alexander also includes two of his own compositions, "Dear Diz" and "Tucker Avenue Stomp." Steaming Hot offers a fine introduction to Alexander's work for Concord during the '80s and '90s, and serves as a fine testament to the durable form of the piano trio. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Monty Alexander

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431223221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)