Monty Alexander Ballad Essentials

Ballad Essentials
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  35X89
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Concord Records


  • 1.Here's That Rainy Day
  • 2.In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
  • 3.Estat‚
  • 4.Body and Soul
  • 5.The River
  • 6.Because You're Mine
  • 7.Cavatina
  • 8.For All We Know
  • 9.Close Enough for Love
  • 10.September Song
  • 11.Maybe September
  • 12.I'm a Fool to Want You

Product Description:

Personnel: Monty Alexander (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar); John Patitucci, Ray Brown, John Clayton, Gerald Wiggins, Ira Coleman (bass); Troy Davis, Ed Thigpen, Dion Parson (drums); Othello Molineaux, Derek Dicenzo (steel drums).
Recorded between 1980 and 1996. Includes liner notes by Scott Yanow.
This is part of the Concord Records Ballad Essentials series.
Personnel: Monty Alexander (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar); Ed Thigpen, Troy Davis , Dion Parson (drums); Othello Molineaux (steel drum).
Liner Note Author: Scott Yanow.
Recording information: Maybeck Recital Hall, Berkeley, CA (1980-1997); Sound on Sound, New York, NY (1980-1997); Soundmixers, New York, NY (1980-1997); Sounds Creation, Osaka, Japan (1980-1997).
Photographer: Teri Bloom.
In 2000, Monty Alexander was an obvious choice for Concord Jazz's Ballad Essentials series. The Jamaican pianist had recorded at least 14 albums for Concord, and he had a reputation for being a very lyrical and expressive ballad player. This collection, which spans 1980-1996, could have easily been a two-CD set, but instead, Concord chooses to be more concise and keeps it down to a single disc. You won't hear any horn solos on this CD; more often that not, Alexander is heard as a trio pianist, and that format serves him well on such standards as "Body and Soul" and "For All We Know." Meanwhile, Alexander's talents as an unaccompanied solo pianist are evident on the hauntingly pretty "Estat‚" (from Vol. 40 of Concord's Live at Maybeck Recital Hall series) and various gems from the pianist's Frank Sinatra tribute Echoes of Jilly's, including "I'm a Fool to Want You" and "Here's That Rainy Day." Most of the albums that Alexander recorded for Concord in the 1980s and 1990s are worth owning, but if you need a to-the-point summary of his ballad playing during those decades, Ballad Essentials is the logical choice. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Monty Alexander

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,997
  • UPC: 013431490326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)