Aaron Neville My True Story

My True Story
Price: $12.67
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.31 (9% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  35X84
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 22, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Blue Note Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.67
3 stars out of 5 -- "[O]n slow jams like the title track and Curtis Mayfield's 'Gypsy Woman,' Neville suspends time in vocal amber, a true soul master at work."
Q (Magazine) - p.107
3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his is a joyful and respectful collection....A quiet victory..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.96
4 stars out of 5 -- "Sourced from the classic pre-Motown/Stax R&B-soul songbook, the music here is all rearranged with a strong flavour of street-corner harmonising..."


  • 1.Money Honey
  • 2.My True Story
  • 3.Ruby Baby
  • 4.Gypsy Woman
  • 5.Ting a Ling
  • 6.Be My Baby
  • 7.Little Bitty Pretty One
  • 8.Tears on My Pillow
  • 9.Under the Boardwalk
  • 10.Work with Me Annie
  • 11.This Magic Moment / True Love - (remix)
  • 12.Goodnight My Love (Pleasant Dreams)

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Glyn Johns.
Recording information: Electric Lady Studios, New York, NY; The Music Shed, New Orleans, LA.
Back in 1985, Aaron Neville offered fans a glimpse of his love of doo wop with the EP Orchid in the Storm. Over a quarter-century later, he returns to it on My True Story. Doo wop pre-dates rock & roll. Its reliance on the human voice in group harmony communicates not only melody but rhythm, and influenced the sounds of Motown, Stax, and early rock & roll. Even Frank Zappa claimed it as a prime influence. Co-produced by Keith Richards and Blue Note label boss Don Was, the dozen tunes here make prime use of Neville's voice, placing his high, smooth, vulnerable tenor way up front; he is backed by vintage-era doo wop singers and an all-star band that includes Richards and Greg Leisz on guitars, Benmont Tench on keyboards, bassist Tony Scherr, and drummer George R. Receli. Lenny Pickett helps out on horns and winds on a number of tracks as well. The production is clean, the musical backing used more as texture and color than as real support -- Neville and his vocalists offer all the impetus needed to pull this off (indeed one wonders what this set might have sounded like a cappella). The tunes are all classics. Standouts include Lieber & Stoller's "Ruby Baby," a medley of Doc Pomus & Mort Shuman's "This Magic Moment" and "True Love," Hank Ballard's "Work with Me Annie" (featuring a guest appearance from Art Neville on B-3), Sylvester Bradford's and Al Lewis' "Tears on My Pillow," and Curtis Mayfield's "Gypsy Woman." The latter marries doo wop to early Chicago soul, and Neville celebrates this in his reading. "Be My Baby," which will forever be associated with the Ronettes and Phil Spector's Wall of Sound, is stripped back to the source music that inspired its authors, Ellie Greenwich, Jeff Barry, and Spector -- even when adding a Pickett flute solo to the chart. Ultimately, My True Story is a smooth, mostly laid-back, and soulful recording by Neville. He provides a healthy -- sometimes overly -- reverential respect for the original material. Coupled with his vocals, these restrained yet imaginative arrangements offer some surprising twists and turns. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Aaron Neville

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099962348928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)