Jimmy Forrest Night Train

Night Train
5 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.77 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $2.21 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  X79E
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 1, 1986
  • Label: Delmark


  • 1.Night Train
  • 2.Calling Dr. Jazz
  • 3.Sophisticated Lady
  • 4.Swingin' And Rockin'
  • 5.Bolo Blues
  • 6.Mister Goodbeat
  • 7.Flight 3-D
  • 8.Hey Mrs. Jones
  • 9.My Buddy - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.Song Of The Wanderer
  • 11.Blue Groove
  • 12.Big Dip
  • 13.Begin The Beguine - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.There Will Never Be Another You
  • 15.Coach 13
  • 16.Dig Those Feet - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.Mrs. Jones' Daughter - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Jimmy Forrest (tenor saxophone); Chauncey Locke (trumpet); Bart Dabney (trombone); Bunky Parker, Charles Fox (piano); Johnny Mixon, Hershel Harris (bass); Oscar Oldham (drums); Percy James, Bob Reagen (bongos, congas).
Producer: Robert G. Koester.
Reissue producers: Robert G. Koester, Joe Segal.
Includes liner notes by Frank Driggs.
Personnel: Jimmy Forrest (tenor saxophone); Chauncey Locke (trumpet); Bart Dabney, Bart Babney (trombone); Charles Fox, Bunky Parker (piano); Oscar Oldham (drums); Percy James, Bob Reagan (congas, bongos, percussion); Bob Reagen (congas, bongos).
Liner Note Author: Frank Driggs.
Recording information: 11/27/1951-09/07/1953.
Jimmy Forrest had a tremendous hit in 1951 with "Night Train," a simple blues riff he lifted from Duke Ellington's "Happy Go Lucky Local." Although the tenorman was not able to duplicate that song's appeal with any other recording, he was a popular performer in the R&B circuit throughout the 1950s. Virtually all of his records from the era (originally made for the United label) are on this CD reissue, including five selections not previously released. The tough-toned Forrest was not really a screamer or a honker, and the 17 numbers on the set should be of interest both to early R&B and jazz collectors. Recorded in Chicago, Forrest fronts a rhythm section that includes either Charles Fox or Bunky Parker on piano and sometimes trumpeter Chauncey Locke or trombonist Bert Dabney. The music is very enjoyable and highly recommended. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.4
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jimmy Forrest

Product Info

  • UPC: 038153043520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)