Ella Fitzgerald The Legendary, Volume 1

The Legendary, Volume 1
Only 4 copies left
Sale: $10.76
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.36 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.95
You Save: $2.59 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  X77F
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 10, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Acrobat


  • 1.I'll Chase the Blues Away
  • 2.Love and Kisses
  • 3.Rhythm and Romance
  • 4.My Melancholy Baby
  • 5.Crying My Heart Out for You
  • 6.When I Get Low I Get High
  • 7.Sing Me a Swing Song (and Let Me Dance)
  • 8.Little Bit Later On
  • 9.Love, You're Just a Laugh
  • 10.Devoting My Time to You
  • 11.Vote for Mr. Rhythm
  • 12.Goodnight My Love
  • 13.Didja Mean It
  • 14.Organ Grinder's Swing
  • 15.Shine
  • 16.Darktown Strutters' Ball
  • 17.Take Another Guess
  • 18.Big Boy Blue
  • 19.Dedicated to You
  • 20.Cryin' Mood

Product Description:

Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); The Mills Brothers (vocals); John Trueheart (guitar, banjo); Allan Reuss, Bernard Addison (guitar); Wayman Carver (flute, tenor saxophone); Pete Clark, Jerry Blake (clarinet, alto saxophone); Benny Goodman (clarinet); Bill DePew, Edgar Sampson, Hymie Schertzer (alto saxophone); Arthur Rollini, Elmer "Skippy" Williams, Teddy McRae, Vido Musso (tenor saxophone); Gordon Griffin, Frankie Newton, Mario BauzĀ , Taft Jordan, Ziggy Elman, Zeke Zarchy (trumpet); Nat Story, Murray McEachern, Sandy Williams , Benny Morton, Claude Jones, Red Ballard (trombone); Tommy Fulford, Don Kirkpatrick, Jess Stacy, Teddy Wilson (piano); Chick Webb , Cozy Cole, Gene Krupa (drums).
Liner Note Author: Peter Gamble.
Recording information: N.Y.C (06/12/1935-03/24/1937).
The first of a five-volume series from the obscure British label Acrobat, The Legendary, Vol. 1 concentrates on the series of late-'30s sides recorded by Ella Fitzgerald at the dawn of her career, usually fronting the Chick Webb Orchestra for an occasional vocal feature or appearing with a smaller studio band. While early on, Ella's superior talent at reading a song was evident only occasionally, the swing powerhouse that was the Webb band became the perfect vehicle for her extroverted talents. Highlights include "My Melancholy Baby" with Teddy Wilson, "Goodnight My Love" with the Benny Goodman Orchestra, and the Chick Webb features "When I Get Low I Get High" and "Sing Me a Swing Song (And Let Me Dance)." For the collectors who want all of her material, there's the excellent chronological series on Classics, while listeners new to Ella will far prefer a less exhausting collection. ~ John Bush
Acrobat Music

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • UPC: 824046510626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)