The Floor 1st Floor

1st Floor
Only 5 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.12 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.87 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FH6Y
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1967


  • 1.Damned Little Fool
  • 2.Trusting Mr. Jones
  • 3.Nevertheless
  • 4.Hey, Mr. Flowermann
  • 5.In Every Hand
  • 6.Turn It On
  • 7.Mrs. O'Grady
  • 8.Moonbean
  • 9.A Rainbow Around Us
  • 10.Little Mr. So and So
  • 11.I Think I Can Change You
  • 12.Hush
  • 13.You Ain't Going Nowhere
  • 14.Open the Door Homer

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Simon Murphy .
Liner Note Author: Kieron Tyler.
Arranger: Bertrand Bech.
The only album by the Danish band the Floor is heavily derivative of 1967 British pop-psychedelia, to the point where most knowledgeable listeners would simply assume the musicians were British if not informed otherwise. There are observational story-songs; upbeat pop/rockers with a mild vaudevillian/music hall bounce, … la some of the work from the period by the Beatles and the Kinks; Baroque-classical-tinged strings; some flower-power-tinged lyrics; and an eclecticism that runs from relatively straight rock to self-consciously arty compositions. It might not be the most original piece of work, in the quite literal as well as musical sense, since none of the songs were written by the band, unless some of the songwriting credits were pseudonymous. But it's nonetheless decent, tuneful material with some attractive vocal harmonies, and more varied than many such records from the time. Some of the tracks are forgettable, yet others are a fair ways above average, including the delicately folky "Hush," which has a beguiling winding melody, and "Thinking Mr. Jones," whose "I'm Only Sleeping"-like backward guitar features prominently in a tale of domestic infidelity that's very English in its gentility. "A Rainbow Around Us" rocks harder than most of the album, and is one of its highlights, with its mixture of sunny pop harmonies and well-oiled British Invasion/folk-rock-influenced jangling guitar. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929599185
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)