Duke Ellington Volume 2: From the Cotton Club to Sweden (4-CD)

Volume 2: From the Cotton Club to Sweden (4-CD)
2 ratings
Only 10 copies left
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FH6C
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 10, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rent Party Blues
  • 2.Paducah
  • 3.Harlem Flat Blues
  • 4.Hot Feet
  • 5.Sloppy Joe
  • 6.Stevedore Stomp
  • 7.Cotton Club Stomp
  • 8.Arabian Lover
  • 9.Saratoga Swing
  • 10.Jungle Jamboree
  • 11.Snake Hip Dance
  • 12.Jazz Convulsions
  • 13.The Duke Steps Out
  • 14.Haunted Nights
  • 15.Lazy Duke
  • 16.Blues of the Vagabond
  • 17.When You're Smiling
  • 18.Maori
  • 19.Double Check Stomp
  • 20.Cotton Club Stomp
  • 21.Jungle Nights in Harlem
  • 22.Shout 'Em Aunt Tillie
  • 23.Ring dem Bells
  • 24.Old Man Blues
  • 25.Big House Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rocky Mountain Blues
  • 2.Mood Indigo
  • 3.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 4.Creole Rhapsody, Pt. 1 - (Part 1)
  • 5.Creole Rhapsody, Pt. 2 - (Part 2)
  • 6.The Mystery Song
  • 7.It Don't Mean a Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing
  • 8.Jazz Cocktail
  • 9.Delta Bound
  • 10.Diga Diga Doo
  • 11.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 12.Eerie Moan
  • 13.Merry-Go-Round
  • 14.Sophisticated Lady
  • 15.I've Got the World Upon a String
  • 16.Down a Carolina Lane
  • 17.Slippery Horn
  • 18.Drop Me off at Harlem
  • 19.Get Yourself a New Broom (And Sweep Those Blues Away)
  • 20.Bundle of Blues
  • 21.Stormy Weather
  • 22.Hyde Park
  • 23.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • 24.Jive Stomp
  • 25.In the Shade of the Old Apple Tree

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Daybreak Express
  • 2.Solitude
  • 3.Troubled Waters
  • 4.Moonglow
  • 5.In a Sentimental Mood
  • 6.Merry Go Round - (2nd Version)
  • 7.Clarinet Lament (Barney's Concerto)
  • 8.Echoes of Harlem (Cootie's Concerto)
  • 9.Kissin' My Baby Goodnight
  • 10.Oh Babe! Maybe Someday
  • 11.In a Jam
  • 12.I've Got to Be a Rug Cutter
  • 13.Caravan
  • 14.All God's Chillun Got Rhythm
  • 15.Diminuendo in Blue
  • 16.Crescendo in Blue
  • 17.The Gal from Joe's
  • 18.I Let a Song Go out of My Heart
  • 19.Braggin' in Brass
  • 20.I'm Slappin' Seventh Avenue (With the Sole of My Shoe)
  • 21.You Gave Me the Gate (And I'm Swingin')
  • 22.Rose of the Rio Grande
  • 23.When My Sugar Walks Down the Street
  • 24.A Gypsy Without a Song
  • 25.A Blues Serenade

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Old King Dooji
  • 2.Pussy Willow
  • 3.Subtle Lament
  • 4.Smorgasbord and Schnapps
  • 5.Portrait of the Lion
  • 6.Solid Old Man
  • 7.Cotton Club Stomp
  • 8.Doin' the Voom Voom
  • 9.Way Low
  • 10.Serenade to Sweden
  • 11.In a Mizz
  • 12.I'm Checkin' out Goo'm Bye
  • 13.You Can Count on Me
  • 14.Bouncin' Bouyancy
  • 15.The Sergeant Was Shy
  • 16.Grievin'
  • 17.Little Posey
  • 18.I've Never Felt This Way Before
  • 19.Grievin'
  • 20.Tootin' Through the Root
  • 21.Weely (A Portrait of Billy Strayhorn)
  • 22.Killin' Myself
  • 23.Your Love Has Faded
  • 24.Country Girl
  • 25.Solitude

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Duke Ellington; Irving Mills (vocals, spoken vocals); Freddy Jenkins (vocals, trumpet, taps); Hayes Alvis (vocals, double bass); John H.R. Mills, John Mills , The Mills Brothers (vocals); Brass Band (harp); Cornell Smelser (accordion); Joe Garland (tenor saxophone); Harold Baker (trumpet); Lawrence D. Brown, Lawrence Brown (trombone); Jimmy Blanton, Wellman Braud, Billy Taylor (double bass); Cootie Williams, Arthur Whetsol (vocals, trumpet); Rex Stewart (vocals, cornet); Juan Tizol (vocals, trombone, valve trombone); Sonny Greer (vocals, drums, tambourine); Ethel Waters, Donald Mills, Harry Mills, Ivie Anderson, Herbert Mills (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar, banjo); Harry Carney (clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, double bass); Johnny Hodges (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Otto Hardwick (clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Marshall Royal (clarinet, alto saxophone); Barney Bigard (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Wallace Jones (trumpet); Joe "Tricky Sam" Nanton (trombone); Fred Avendorf (drums); Charlie Barnet (chimes).
Recording information: Camden, NJ (03/01/1929-02/14/1940); Chicago, IL (03/01/1929-02/14/1940); Hollywood, CA (03/01/1929-02/14/1940); New York, NY (03/01/1929-02/14/1940).
Director: Duke Ellington.
Arrangers: Duke Ellington; Brick Fleagle; Billy Strayhorn.
The JSP label presents the second volume of vintage sides dating from Duke Ellington's early years as a bandleader. The heading "From the Cotton Club to Sweden" does not indicate a transatlantic tour, but simply reflects the producer's penchant for using song titles to concoct names for compilation sets (JSP's previous volume of Ellington, for example, was called "Mrs. Clinkscales to the Cotton Club"). This set, then, is named after the "Cotton Club Stomp" and the "Serenade to Sweden." Packed with 100 beautifully remastered selections recorded between March 1929 and February 1940, it forms a valuable bridge between the explosive brilliance of Duke's first five years of recording activity and the artistic triumphs of the Jimmy Blanton/Ben Webster band of the early '40s. During the '30s, Ellington blossomed as a composer as he wrote music specifically tailored for each of his star soloists. Singers heard on this collection are Ivie Anderson, Ethel Waters, the Mills Brothers, Irving Mills, and various members of the band. Having the essential Ellington records of the '30s in one box is a treat not to be missed. For quantity, quality, and remarkably low list price, you won't do better than this. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info

  • UPC: 788065903626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.82/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)