Duke Ellington Masters of Jazz

Masters of Jazz
Price: $5.39
List Price: $5.99
You Save: $0.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DDVH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 29, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Storyville Records


  • 1.Take the "A" Train
  • 2.Blow Boy Blow
  • 3.Medley: It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)/Satin Doll
  • 4.Kinda Dukish
  • 5.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • 6.Satin Doll
  • 7.New World A-Comin'
  • 8.VIP Boogie / Jam with Sam
  • 9.The Good Years of Jazz
  • 10.What Am I Here For?
  • 11.Johnny Come Lately
  • 12.Main Stem (Altitude)
  • 13.Ring Dem Bells - (live)
  • 14.Rockin' in Rhythm - (live)
  • 15.Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me - (live)
  • 16.Juat A-Sittin' and A-Rockin' - (live)
  • 17.C Jam Blues - (live)
  • 18.Cotton Tail - (live)

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, trumpet); Al Hibbler (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar); Harry Carney (clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Oett "Sax" Mallard, Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Chauncey Houghton (clarinet); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Elmer "Skippy" Williams, Paul Gonsalves, Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Ed Mullens, Harold Baker, Al Killian, Rex Stewart, Taft Jordan, Francis Williams , Wallace Jones, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Joseph Nanton, Lawrence D. Brown, Leon Cox, Juan Tizol, Quentin Jackson, Tyree Glenn, Chuck Connors (trombone); Sam Woodyard, Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Author: The Mike Hennessey Chastet.
Recording information: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (04/03/1943-02/25/1966); Focus Recording, Copenhagen, Denmark (04/03/1943-02/25/1966); France (04/03/1943-02/25/1966); Hollywood Empire, Los Angeles, CA (04/03/1943-02/25/1966); New York, NY (04/03/1943-02/25/1966).
Photographer: Jan Persson.
While tempted to call this collection of tracks by Duke Ellington & His Orchestra a hodgepodge, it's more like a mishmash. The music here -- 18 cuts worth -- is presented in strange fashion. First, it's from all different periods ranging from 1943 to 1966 (the latest cut chronologically is a solo piano read of a medley of Duke's finest). It's not presented in chronological order either, but was sequenced aesthetically instead. The first pieces, "Take the 'A' Train" and "Blow Boy Blow," are from 1962 when the band, while not in its prime, did contain a number of startling players including Cat Anderson and Ray Nance on trumpets, Paul Gonsalves and Johnny Hodges on saxophones, and Sam Woodyard and Harry Carney on drums and bass, respectively. These tunes swing hard, though the sound quality is a little ragged. The treasure piece here is the aforementioned solo piano medley recorded in Paris in 1966, with Ellington moving through "It Don't Mean a Thing," "Satin Doll," "Sophisticated Lady," "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)," "Mood Indigo," and "Caravan," just to name a few. At nearly 12 minutes, it is excellent intimate Ellington. The remainder of the material comes from either 1943 or 1949, including a number of cuts with Ben Webster and Juan Tizol, recorded at either Carnegie Hall or the Hollywood Empire. Al Hibbler is featured on some of the 1943 dates singing "Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me," "Rockin' in Rhythm," and "Ring Dem Bells." The sound quality varies but the performances are excellent throughout. This is for the collectors out there searching for rare material. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info

  • UPC: 717101850129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)