Duke Ellington The Duke Box (8-CD Box Set)

The Duke Box (8-CD Box Set)
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $58.49
List Price: $64.99
You Save: $6.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (8 Discs)
sku:  FH5R
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 8
  • Released: March 6, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Storyville Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.93
"Archivists who do not have most of these timeless performances will want this attractive box..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  • 2.Me and You
  • 3.Grievin'
  • 4.Little Posey
  • 5.My Last Goodbye - (Hj)
  • 6.The Gal from Joe's
  • 7.Tootin' Through the Roof
  • 8.Day in, Day Out
  • 9.Merry-Go-Round
  • 10.East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  • 11.Ko Ko
  • 12.Blue Goose
  • 13.So Far, So Good
  • 14.Cotton Tail
  • 15.Concerto for Cootie
  • 16.Jack the Bear
  • 17.Boy Meets Horn
  • 18.The Sergeant Was Shy
  • 19.Never No Lament

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.It's Glory
  • 2.The Mooche
  • 3.The Sheik of Araby
  • 4.Sepia Panorama
  • 5.Ko Ko
  • 6.There Shall Be No Night
  • 7.Pussy Willow
  • 8.Chatterbox
  • 9.Mood Indigo
  • 10.Harlem Airshaft
  • 11.Ferryboat Serenade
  • 12.Warm Valley
  • 13.Stompy Jones
  • 14.Chloe
  • 15.Bojangles
  • 16.On the Air
  • 17.Rumpus in Richmond
  • 18.Chaser
  • 19.The Sidewalks of New York
  • 20.The Flaming Sword
  • 21.Never No Lament
  • 22.Caravan
  • 23.Clarinet Lament

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Slap Happy
  • 2.Sepia Panorama
  • 3.Boy Meets Horn
  • 4.Way Down Yonder in New Orleans
  • 5.Oh Babe, Maybe Someday
  • 6.Five O'Clock Whistle
  • 7.Fanfare
  • 8.Call of the Canyon / Unidentified Title / All This and Heaven Too
  • 9.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 10.Sophisticated Lady
  • 11.Cotton Tail
  • 12.Whispering Grass
  • 13.Congo Brava
  • 14.I Never Felt This Way Before
  • 15.Across the Track Blues
  • 16.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 17.Wham
  • 18.Star Dust
  • 19.Rose of the Rio Grande
  • 20.St. Louis Blues
  • 21.Warm Valley
  • 22.God Bless America

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Take the 'A' Train
  • 2.Hayfoot Strawfoot
  • 3.It Can't Be Wrong
  • 4.What Am I Here For?
  • 5.Mainstem (Altitude)
  • 6.Could It Be You?
  • 7.Goin' Up
  • 8.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 9.Nevada
  • 10.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • 11.Take the 'A' Train
  • 12.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 13.Mainstem (Altitude)
  • 14.I Don't Want Anybody at All
  • 15.Johnny Come Lately
  • 16.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • 17.Moon Mist
  • 18.You'll Never Know
  • 19.Tonight I Shall Sleep
  • 20.I Don't Know What Kind of Blues I Got
  • 21.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 22.Moon Mist
  • 23.Introduction
  • 24.I Wonder Why
  • 25.Goin' Up

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Star Spangled Banner
  • 2.Introduction by Duke Ellington
  • 3.Take the 'A' Train
  • 4.Moon Mist
  • 5.Tea for Two
  • 6.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 7.Star Dust
  • 8.The C Jam Blues
  • 9.West Indian Influence
  • 10.Lighter Attitude
  • 11.New World A-Coming
  • 12.Floor Show
  • 13.Don't Get Around Much Anymore

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Introduction by Duke Ellington
  • 2.Ring dem Bells
  • 3.Medley: In a Sentimental Mood / Mood Indigo / Sophisticated Lady / Caravan / So: In A Sentimental Mood / Mood Indigo / Sophisticated Lady / Caravan / Solitude / I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
  • 4.Jack the Bear
  • 5.Do Nothing 'Till You Hear from Me
  • 6.Summertime
  • 7.Cotton Tail
  • 8.Black and Tan Fantasy
  • 9.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 10.Sentimental Lady
  • 11.Trumpet in Spades
  • 12.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • 13.Announcer and Duke Ellington Introduction
  • 14.G.I. Jive
  • 15.Amor, Amor
  • 16.Frankie and Johnny

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.Take the 'A' Train
  • 2.Suddenly It Jumped
  • 3.Laura
  • 4.Kissing Bug
  • 5.Stompy Jones
  • 6.Solid Old Man
  • 7.Carnegie Blues
  • 8.In a Mellotone
  • 9.Fancy Dan
  • 10.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • 11.Black and Tan Fantasy
  • 12.Mood to Be Wooed
  • 13.Frantic Fantasy
  • 14.The C Jam Blues
  • 15.Air Conditioned Jungle
  • 16.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 17.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 18.Take the 'A' Train
  • 19.The Blues
  • 20.Sono

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • 1.Solid Old Man
  • 2.Singin' in the Rain
  • 3.Three Cent Stomp
  • 4.Tulip or Turnip
  • 5.Take the 'A' Train
  • 6.Hy'a Sue
  • 7.The C Jam Blues
  • 8.Passion Flower
  • 9.Clementine
  • 10.Just A-Sittin' and A-Rockin'
  • 11.One O'Clock Jump
  • 12.Unbooted Character
  • 13.Paradise
  • 14.How You Sound
  • 15.It's Monday Every Day
  • 16.Caravan
  • 17.Cotton Tail

Product Description:

Duke Ellington: Duke Ellington.
Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, violin, trumpet); Herb Jeffries, Ivie Anderson, Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis, Al Hibbler, Betty Roch‚ (vocals); Fred Guy (whistling, guitar); Harry Carney (clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Johnny Hodges (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Oett "Sax" Mallard, Nat Jones, Otto Hardwick (clarinet, alto saxophone); Elmer "Skippy" Williams, Jimmy Hamilton, Barney Bigard, Ben Webster (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Russell Procope (alto saxophone); Al Sears (tenor saxophone); Rex Stewart (trumpet, cornet); Cootie Williams, Reunald Jones, Harold Baker, Al Killian, Taft Jordan, Shelton Hemphill, Francis Williams , Wallace Jones, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Lawrence D. Brown, Joe "Tricky Sam" Nanton, Juan Tizol, Quentin Jackson, Sandy Williams , Tyree Glenn, Wilbur De Paris, Claude Jones (trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Author: Dan Morgenstern.
Recording information: Carnegie Hall, NY (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); CBS Studios, New York, NY (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); Crystal Ballroom, Fargo, ND (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); Hollywood Empire, L.A (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); Howard Theatre, Washington DC (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); Hurrican, NY (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); Langley Air Force Base, Hampton, VA (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); Naval Training Center, Bainbridge, MD (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); Southland Cafe, Boston, MA (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); The New Zanzibar, NY (01/09/1940-02/??/1949); World Studios, NY (01/09/1940-02/??/1949).
Photographers: William Gottlieb; Gordon Parks; Bettmann; Herman Leonard.
Was Duke Ellington, as pianist, composer, and/or bandleader, one of the most vital musical figures in 20th-century history (and beyond)? The answer is, naturally, yes, and the proof lies within this box set. In the 1940s, Ellington led an edition of his orchestra considered by fans and scholars to be his best--it featured iconic players Jimmy Blanton, Johnny Hodges, and Ben Webster. Ellington's abilities as a songwriter and arranger were in full flower--by then he'd established a catalog of tunes that achieved both commercial success and melodic excellence. THE DUKE BOX covers all the bases, from the vivid, suite-like "Black and Tan Fantasy" to the exotic "Caravan" to standards such as "Laura"--it's a hefty, essential piece of American jazz and pop history.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info

  • UPC: 717101860029
  • Shipping Weight: 1.11/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 8 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)