Freddie McGregor Comin' in Tough

Comin' in Tough
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  HA9D
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: VP Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Lock It Down
  • Buy for $0.992.Bangarang
  • Buy for $0.993.Can You Feel It
  • Buy for $0.994.Comin' in Tough
  • Buy for $0.995.Set the Program
  • Buy for $0.996.Choices
  • Buy for $0.997.Red Rose
  • Buy for $0.998.Love and Affection
  • Buy for $0.999.Ooh Child
  • Buy for $0.9910.You Don't Know
  • Buy for $0.9911.United We Stand
  • Buy for $0.9912.Little Girl
  • Buy for $0.9913.Pick Yourself Up
  • Buy for $0.9914.A Better Way
  • Buy for $0.9915.Save a Little Love
  • Buy for $0.9916.In Your Dreams
  • Buy for $0.9917.Love on Our Side

Product Description:

Personnel: Freddie McGregor (drums, background vocals); Freddie McGregor (vocals); Morgan Heritage (vocals, background vocals); Marcia Griffiths, Anthony B (vocals); Errol Hurd (saxophone); Dean Fraser, Nambo Robinson (horns); Michael "Mike Dee" Johnson, Michael Johnson, Noel Browne, Paul Crossdale (keyboards); Robbie Shakespeare (bass instrument); Patrick Kerr, Willburn "Squidley" Cole, Melbourne Miller (drums); Bobby Dixon (percussion); Kashief Lindo (programming, drum programming, background vocals); Rochell Bradshaw, Daniel McGregor, Nadine Sutherland (background vocals); Dalton Browne (guitar, background vocals); Willie Lindo (guitar); Robert Lyn, Paul Henton (keyboards); Rolando Wilson (drums).
Audio Mixers: Stephen McGregor; Dalton Browne; Arthur Simms; Jason Sterling; Bobby Dixon; Carl "Dillie" McLeod.
Recording information: Big Ship Recording Studio; Digital-B Recording Studio; Heavy Beat Recording Studio; Sound Mixers Studio.
Photographer: Karen Fuchs.
Arranger: Stephen McGregor.
Comin' in Tough, from reggae legend Freddie McGregor, doesn't break any new ground for the much-loved singer, but does clearly demonstrate why he's been such a consistent seller for almost four decades. The album's two lead tracks are also its two hit singles so far: the first, "Lock It Down," is an irresistibly catchy call to consciousness and "positivity"; the second is an equally hooky rewrite of Coxsone Dodd's classic "Bangarang" rhythm. The rest of the album is uneven, but generally quite good: for every disappointment (a completely unnecessary rewrite of the Wailers' rocksteady classic "Love and Affection," a meandering and lackluster original titled "Set the Program") there are at least two or three gems (like the brilliant "Pick Yourself Up," featuring Morgan Heritage). The album is produced by Bobby "Digital" Dixon, who provides a nice sonic mixture of modern smoothness and rootsy texture, thanks in part to the presence of such stellar sidemen as drummer William "Squidley" Cole, guitarist Dalton Browne, and bassist Donald "Danny Bassie" Dennis. This may not be the most essential title in McGregor's catalog, but it's a solid entry. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Freddie McGregor

Product Info:

  • UPC: 054645170529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)