Eddie Condon The Town Hall Concerts, Volume 7 (Live)

The Town Hall Concerts, Volume 7 (Live)
1 rating
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  DDRY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 10, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Jazzology

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.My Blue Heaven
  • 2.Through a Veil of Indifference
  • 3.After You've Gone
  • 4.Pee Wee's Town Hall Stomp
  • 5.Riverside Blues
  • 6.Wherever There's Love (There's You and Me)
  • 7.Impromptu Ensemble
  • 8.Easter Parade
  • 9.Cherry
  • 10.Someday, Sweetheart
  • 11.Impromptu Ensemble
  • 12.Way Down Yonder in New Orleans
  • 13.Three Little Words
  • 14.Song of the Wanderer
  • 15.Impromptu Ensemble

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.September in the Rain
  • 2.I Got Rhythm
  • 3.I've Been Around
  • 4.Lady's in Love With You
  • 5.Old Folks
  • 6.Uncle Sam Blues
  • 7.Teaser (Also Known as Makin' Friends)
  • 8.I Found a New Baby
  • 9.Little Rock Getaway
  • 10.Memories of You
  • 11.Sheik of Araby
  • 12.Baby, Won't You Please Come Home?
  • 13.Impromptu Ensemble

Product Description:

Personnel: Eddie Condon (guitar, banjo); Wingy Manone (vocals, trumpet); Jack Teagarden (vocals, trombone); Ernest Anderson (vocals); Jimmy Dorsey, Pee Wee Russell (clarinet); Ernie Caceres (baritone saxophone); Oran Thaddeus Page, Max Kaminsky, Billy Butterfield (trumpet); Dick Cary, Muggsy Spanier, Bobby Hackett (cornet); Lou McGarity (trombone); Cliff Jackson , Norma Teagarden (piano); George Wettling, Johnny Blowers (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Jack Towers.
Recording information: 11/04/1944-12/02/1944.
Director: Fred Robbins.
Arrangers: Dick Cary; Bobby Hackett.
The Eddie Condon Town Hall Concerts were a series of half-hour radio programs during 1944-45 that gave the guitarist-bandleader an opportunity to present many classic jazz greats in spontaneous settings. The seventh volume of this very significant Jazzology reissue series of double CDs differs from the previous ones in that, due to scheduling conflicts, a couple of the shows were shorter than usual so there are five (rather than four) included on the set. Condon features quite an impressive lineup: trumpeters Billy Butterfield, Bobby Hackett, Max Kaminsky, Wingy Manone, Hot Lips Page and Muggsy Spanier, trombonists Lou McGarity and Jack Teagarden, clarinetists Jimmy Dorsey and Pee Wee Russell, baritonist Ernie Caceres, pianists Dick Cary, Cliff Jackson, Gene Schroeder, Jess Stacy and Norma Teagarden, bassists Bob Casey and Jack Lesberg, drummers Johnny Blowers and George Wettling and singers Red McKenzie and Lee Wiley. The Teagarden show is particularly inspired but all of the volumes in this series are highly recommended to fans of the era, for the well-recorded performances allowed the many stars not only to be feature individually but to interact with each other in "Impromptu Ensembles." ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Eddie Condon

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247691426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)