Arnett Cobb Cobb and His Mob in Concert Featuring Dinah Washington (Live)

Cobb and His Mob in Concert Featuring Dinah
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  DDR7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Highnote


  • 1.Jumpin' the Blues
  • 2.Cocktails For Two
  • 3.Smooth Sailin'
  • 4.Someone to Watch Over Me
  • 5.Go Red Go
  • 6.When I Grow Too Old to Dream
  • 7.The Shy One
  • 8.It's Too Soon to Know
  • 9.Only a Moment Ago
  • 10.Make Believe Dreams
  • 11.Journey's End
  • 12.Dinah Speaks
  • 13.It's Magic
  • 14.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)

Product Description:

Personnel: Arnett Cobb (tenor saxophone); Dinah Washington (vocals);
Cootie Williams (trumpet); Johnny Acea (piano); Keeter Betts (bass); Jimmy Cobb (drums).
Recorded live in New York, New York on June 27, 1952. Includes liner notes by Lara Pellegrinelli.
Digitally remastered by Malcolm Addey.
Personnel: Arnett Cobb (tenor saxophone); Dinah Washington (vocals); Cootie Williams, Ed Lewis (trumpet); Dicky Harris (trombone); John "Johnny" Adriano Acea (piano); Al Walker, Jimmy Cobb (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Malcolm Addey.
Liner Note Author: Lara Pellegrinelli.
Recording information: New York, NY (06/27/1952).
Formerly released on LP by an obscure collector's label, this live session features two different groups. Despite the fact that tenor saxophonist Arnett Cobb and singer Dinah Washington get co-billing, they actually never appear together. The first seven selections feature Cobb and an unidentified group; chances are that the sextet also includes trumpeter Ed Lewis and trombonist Dickie Harris. The enthusiastic tenorman sounds in top form during the basic material which includes "Jumpin' the Blues," "Smooth Sailin'," and "When I Grow Too Old to Dream." Dinah Washington is showcased on six selections with her rhythm section of the era (pianist Johnny Acea, bassist Keter Betts, and drummer Jimmy Cobb), mostly lesser-known material such as "It's Too Soon to Know," "Make Believe Dreams," and "Journey's End," in addition to covering Sarah Vaughan's hit "It's Magic." The closing number, "I Got It Bad," has the singer joined by veteran trumpeter Cootie Williams. Overall the recording quality is pretty good, making this a worthwhile purchase. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Arnett Cobb

Product Info

  • UPC: 632375706821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)