Arnett Cobb Blows for 1300

Blows for 1300
1 rating
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HA4E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 26, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Delmark

Entertainment Reviews:

Jazziz - 2/95, p.89
"...a blues-drenched tone and forceful phrasing....he sent currents of electricity into 15 songs that exemplify either small combo jazz or what would soon be called rhythm & blues..."


  • 1.Arnett Blows For 1300
  • 2.Go, Red Go
  • 3.Walkin' With Sid
  • 4.Dutch Kitchen Bounce
  • 5.Running With Ray
  • 6.Big League Blues
  • 7.Cobb's Idea
  • 8.When I Grow Too Old To Dream
  • 9.Pay It No Mind
  • 10.Cobb's Boogie
  • 11.Flower Garden Blues
  • 12.Cobb's Corner
  • 13.Top Flight
  • 14.Chick She Ain't Nowhere
  • 15.Still Flying

Product Description:

Personnel: Arnett Cobb (tenor saxophone); Milt Larkin (vocals); David Page (trumpet); Michael "Booty" Wood, Al King (trombone); George Rhodes (piano); Walter Buchanan (bass); George Jones (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York in May & August 1947. Includes liner notes by Bob Porter.
This is part of Delmark's Apollo series.
Personnel: Arnett Cobb (tenor saxophone); Milt Larkin (vocals); David Page (trumpet); Michael Booty Wood, Alfonso King, Albert King (trombone); George Rhodes (piano); George Jones (drums).
Recording information: New York, NY (05/1947-08/1947).
This Delmark CD reissues all 15 of Arnett Cobb's recordings for Apollo. The spirited tenor (who straddled the boundaries between swing and early R&B) is in prime early form with his sextet on a variety of basic material, much of it blues-oriented. Milt Larkin takes vocals on three of the tracks and there are short solos by either Booty Wood or Al King on trombone, but otherwise the main focus is on Cobb's tough tenor. This very accessible music is both danceable and full of exciting performances that were formerly rare. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Arnett Cobb

Product Info

  • UPC: 038153047122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)