King Crimson Larks' Tongues in Aspic [40th Anniversary] (CD + DVD)

Rating 4.5
176 ratings
List Price: $24.98
Your Price: $22.48
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  DPL 674005
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 15, 2012
  • Label: Discipline Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 11/00, p.129
4 stars out of 5 - "...Much of this sounds curiously, like latter-day post-rock, with gorgeous pastoral moments and jagged guitar crescendos....envincing a lofty...ambition which they rarely, if ever, matched again."
The Wire - 10/00, p.77
"...The extrasensory 'instrumental' prowess of peak King Crimson is what is rewarding here..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 3/01, p.60
"...Huge dynamic leaps, fiendish rhythmic twists, odd time signatures and solos that seem to erupt from nowhere....As a document of an outfit way ahead of its time, the record still packs a powerful punch..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Larks' Tongues In Aspic, Pt. 1
  • 2.Book of Saturday
  • 3.Exiles
  • 4.Easy Money
  • 5.The Talking Drum
  • 6.Larks' Tongues In Aspic, Pt. 2
  • 7.Lark's Tongues In Aspic, Pt. 1 [Alt. Mix] - (remix)
  • 8.Book of Saturday [Alt. Take] - (alternate take)
  • 9.Talking Drum [Alt. Mix], The - (remix)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Lark's Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 1 [2012 Mix 5.1 Surround]
  • 2.Book of Saturday [2012 Mix 5.1 Surround]
  • 3.Exiles [2012 Mix 5.1 Surround]
  • 4.Easy Money [2012 Mix 5.1 Surround]
  • 5.The Talking Drum [2012 Mix 5.1 Surround]
  • 6.Lark's Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2 [2012 Mix 5.1 Surround]
  • 7.Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 1 [2012 Mix Lossless Stereo]
  • 8.Book of Saturday [2012 Mix Lossless Stereo]
  • 9.Exiles [2012 Mix Lossless Stereo]
  • 10.Easy Money [2012 Mix Lossless Stereo]
  • 11.The Talking Drum [2012 Mix Lossless Stereo]
  • 12.Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2 [2012 Mix Lossless Stereo]
  • 13.Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 1 [30th Anniversary Remaster Original 1973 Stereo Mix]
  • 14.Book of Saturday [30th Anniversary Remaster Original 1973 Stereo Mix]
  • 15.Exiles [30th Anniversary Remaster Original 1973 Stereo Mix]
  • 16.Easy Money [30th Anniversary Remaster Original 1973 Stereo Mix]
  • 17.The Talking Drum [30th Anniversary Remaster Original 1973 Stereo Mix]
  • 18.Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2 [30th Anniversary Remaster Original 1973 Stereo Mix]
  • 19.Larks' Tongues In Aspic, Pt. 1 [Alt. Mix] - (remix)
  • 20.Book of Saturday [Alt. Take] - (alternate take)
  • 21.Exiles [Alt. Mix] - (remix)
  • 22.Easy Money [Jamie Muir Solo]
  • 23.Talking Drum [Alt. Mix], The - (remix)
  • 24.Larks' Tongues In Aspic, Pt. 2 [Alt. Mix] - (remix)
  • 25.Easy Money [Alt. Take] - (alternate take)
  • 26.Improv: the Rich Tapestry of Life [Video]
  • 27.Exiles [Video]
  • 28.Larks' Tongues In Aspic, Pt. 1 [Video]
  • 29.Larks' Tongues In Aspic, Pt. 1 (As Broadcast On Beat Club) [Video]

Product Description:

The initial pressing of LARKS' TONGUES IN ASPIC is packaged in a cardboard-stock gatefold sleeve.
King Crimson: John Wetton (vocals, bass); Robert Fripp (guitar, Mellotron, percussion); David Cross (violin, viola, Mellotron); Bill Bruford (drums); Jamie Muir (percussion).
Personnel: John Wetton (vocals, piano); Robert Fripp (guitar, Mellotron); David Cross (violin, viola, Mellotron); Bill Bruford (drums); Jamie Muir (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Steven Wilson; Robert Fripp.
Liner Note Author: Sid Smith .
Recording information: Command Studios, London (01/1973-02/1973).
Photographers: Robert Ellis ; Michael Putland; Barrie Wentzell.
After the transitional ISLANDS, LARK'S TONGUES began the third Crimson phase that ended with RED. The quartet of David Cross, John Wetton, Robert Fripp and Bill Bruford (augmented on LARK'S TONGUES by madman percussionist Jamie Muir) is regarded as the most innovative of Crimson's many lineups, offering hard-edged improvisations on an unprecedented level. With founding member/lyricist Pete Sinfield departed, Robert Palmer-James stepped in with a more cutting, concise lyrical approach that matched the group's uncompromising instrumental precision.
The album opens with part one of the title track and closes with part two, and it's a tour de force that would become a KC milestone. Indicative of the band's mid-'70s sound it features Fripp's laser-like art-metal guitar crunch bobbing and weaving around Wetton's thick, Jack Bruce-like bass lines, Bruford's confounding polyrhythms and Cross' ethereal violin. Each member challenges the others as the band is collectively driven into uncharted, often surprising terrain. As always, there are a couple of beautiful ballads. "Book of Saturday" and "Exiles" benefit from elegant, soaring melodies and Wetton's emotive Greg-Lake-after-50-cigarettes vocal style. LARK'S TONGUES marked a new direction for the band and is easily among their finest efforts.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 176 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for King Crimson

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 126,786
  • UPC: 633367400529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm, Saturday: 9am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)