Bob Brookmeyer Holiday: Bob Brookmeyer Plays Piano

Holiday: Bob Brookmeyer Plays Piano
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $15.29
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  QH84
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Challenge


  • Buy for $0.991.The Man I Love
  • Buy for $0.992.Summer Song
  • Buy for $0.993.It Could Happen to You
  • Buy for $0.994.Holiday
  • Buy for $0.995.I Thought About You
  • Buy for $0.996.I Should Care
  • Buy for $0.997.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • Buy for $0.998.Pastoral
  • Buy for $0.999.Jan Likes
  • Buy for $0.9910.Stupid Song
  • Buy for $0.9911.Child Song
  • Buy for $0.9912.It Might as Well Be Spring

Product Description:

Personnel: Bob Brookmeyer (piano); Mads Vinding (bass); Alex Riel (drums).
Recorded at Broadcast House, Coopenhagen, Denmark on June 6-7, 2000. Includes liner notes by Peter H. Larsen.
Personnel: Bob Brookmeyer (piano); Alex Riel (drums).
Liner Note Author: Bob Brookmeyer.
Recording information: Broadcast House, Studio 3, Copenhagen, Denmark (06/06/2000-06/07/2000).
Although Bob Brookmeyer played piano in addition to his regular instrument, valve trombone, while he was working with Jimmy Giuffre and in both the small and big bands led by Gerry Mulligan, as well as on other sessions, this is his first exclusive outing on the instrument since the recording of "The Ivory Hunters," his famous duo piano date with Bill Evans, some 40-plus years later. Producer Peter Larsen overcame Brookmeyer's numerous objections that he wasn't up to the task; the results are more than satisfying. With bassist Mads Vinding and drummer Alex Riel, he develops interesting approaches to half a dozen time-tested standards. "The Man I Love" is economical and occasionally dissonant, while his reworking of "I Thought About You" has a well-disguised introduction and later a Latin flavor as the rhythm section joins him. "I Should Care" is transformed into a troubled, somewhat darker setting, but he follows it up with a joyful, foot-tapping "Things Ain't What They Used to Be" that surely reflects the song's title; it comes out sounding like an original by Brookmeyer. As one of the top (and most under-appreciated) arrangers and appreciated composers at the dawn of the 21st century, Brookmeyer's originals stand up very well to close scrutiny. "Summer Song" is his brisk reworking of George Gershwin's well-known "Summertime." The pretty ballad "Pastoral" contrasts with his playful (and at first, deceptively simple) "Stupid Song," which builds from an initially repetitious two-note theme. Brookmeyer would never claim that he has the greatest chops on piano, but the way in which he makes use of his talent on the keyboard is of far more interest than the CDs by up-and-coming full-time pianists with great technique but little knowledge of what to do with it. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Bob Brookmeyer

Product Info

  • UPC: 608917010329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)