Sidney Bechet Pre-War Classic Sides (4-CD)

Pre-War Classic Sides (4-CD)
3 ratings
Sale: $26.08
SUPER SAVINGS: $23.48 Limited Time Only
You Save: $2.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  368HQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: January 30, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Got the Bench, Got the Park
  • 2.In a Caf‚ on the Road to Calais
  • 3.Loveless Love
  • 4.Basement Blues
  • 5.Wha'd Ya Do to Me
  • 6.Roll On, Mississippi, Roll On
  • 7.Sweetie Dear
  • 8.I Want You Tonight
  • 9.I've Found a New Baby
  • 10.Lay Your Racket
  • 11.Maple Leaf Rag
  • 12.Shag
  • 13.Under the Creole Moon
  • 14.The Old Ark Is Moverin'
  • 15.Loveless Love
  • 16.Polka Dot Rag
  • 17.That's What Love Did to Me
  • 18.You Can't Live in Harlem
  • 19.I Wonder Who Made Rhythm
  • 20.'Tain't a Fit Night out for Man or Beast
  • 21.I Take to You
  • 22.Rhythm of the Broadway Moon
  • 23.Bandanna Days
  • 24.I'm Just Wild About Harry
  • 25.Dear Old Southland
  • 26.Okey-Doke

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Characteristic Blues
  • 2.Viper Mad
  • 3.Blackstick
  • 4.When the Sun Sets Down South
  • 5.Sweet Patootie
  • 6.Freight Train Blues
  • 7.Trixie Blues
  • 8.My Daddy Rocks Me, Pt. 1
  • 9.My Daddy Rocks Me, Pt. 2
  • 10.He May Be Your Man, But He Comes to Me Sometimes
  • 11.Jack, I'm Mellow
  • 12.Uncle Joe
  • 13.I Am a Woman
  • 14.Toot It, Brother Armstrong
  • 15.Blue Monday on Sugar Hill
  • 16.My Unusual Man
  • 17.What a Dream
  • 18.Hold Tight
  • 19.Jungle Drums
  • 20.Chant in the Night
  • 21.Ja Da
  • 22.Really the Blues
  • 23.When You and I Were Young, Maggie
  • 24.Weary Blues
  • 25.Summertime

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Blues for Tommy
  • 2.Pounding Heart Blues
  • 3.Magic Islands
  • 4.Mayotte
  • 5.Rosa Rhumba
  • 6.Sous Les Palmiers
  • 7.Colonel Bogey
  • 8.Diane
  • 9.Nana
  • 10.De Nous Meme
  • 11.Titte Chatte
  • 12.Belle Germaine, La
  • 13.Ti Ralph
  • 14.Meringue d'Amour
  • 15.Danses de Chez Nous
  • 16.Oh, Didn't He Ramble
  • 17.High Society
  • 18.I Thought I Heard Buddy Bolden Say
  • 19.Winin' Boy Blues
  • 20.Indian Summer
  • 21.One O'Clock Jump
  • 22.Preachin' Blues
  • 23.Sidney's Blues
  • 24.Careless Love
  • 25.Milk Cow Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Lonesome Blues
  • 2.Dear Old Southland
  • 3.Bechet's Steady Rider
  • 4.Saturday Night Blues
  • 5.Four or Five Times
  • 6.Sweet Lorraine
  • 7.Lazy River
  • 8.China Boy
  • 9.If I Could Be with You One Hour Tonight
  • 10.That's a Plenty
  • 11.Squeeze Me
  • 12.Sweet Sue
  • 13.Perdido Street Blues
  • 14.2.19 Blues
  • 15.Down in Honky Tonk Town
  • 16.Coal Cart Blues
  • 17.Shake It and Break It
  • 18.Old Man Blues
  • 19.Wild Man Blues
  • 20.Nobody Knows the Way I Feel 'Dis Mornin'
  • 21.Make Me a Pallet on the Floor

Product Description:

Personnel: Sidney Bechet (vocals, clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Sidney Bechet; Josh White (vocals, guitar); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Jelly Roll Morton (vocals, piano); O'Neill Spencer (vocals, drums); Coot Grant, Bill Maxey, Kid Wilson, Lavaida Carter, Lena Horne, Trixie Smith, Billy Banks, Wilson Myers (vocals); Howard Hill, Lawrence Lucie, Teddy Bunn, Bernard Addison, Carmen Mastren (guitar); Charlie Howard, Leonard Ware (electric guitar); Frank Ethridge, Frank Etheridge (banjo); Oscar Madera (violin); Ralph Duquense (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Harvey Boone, Chauncey Houghton (clarinet, alto saxophone); Mezz Mezzrow (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Albert Nicholas (clarinet); Jim Tolliver, Jerome Pasquall, Happy Caldwell, Gil White (tenor saxophone); Ernie Caceres (baritone saxophone); Frankie Newton, Clarence Brereton, Kenneth Roane, Sidney DeParis, Wendell Culley, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Muggsy Spanier (cornet); Billy Burns, Teddy Nixon, Billy Burns, Chester Burrill, Sandy Williams , Claude Jones (trombone); Edward Coles (brass); Cliff Jackson & His Crazy Cats, Harry Brooks, Henry Duncan, Dave Bowman , Erskine Butterfield, Luis Russell, Meade "Lux" Lewis, Sam Price, Sonny White, Willie "The Lion" Smith (piano); Jimmy Jones (12-string bass); Wilbert Kirk, Jack Carter (drums, drum); Leo Warney, Morris Morland, Kenny Clarke, Manzie Johnson, Big Sid Catlett, Zutty Singleton (drums); Noble Sissle (vocals); Jimmy Miller (guitar); Ram¢n "Moncho" Usera (violin, clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Rudy Jackson (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Demas Dean, Tommy Ladnier (trumpet); Lloyd Pinckney (piano).
Audio Remasterer: Ted Kendall.
Liner Note Authors: Ted Kendall; Drew Kent.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (02/24/1931-06/04/1940); New York, NY (02/24/1931-06/04/1940).
Director: Noble Sissle.
Arrangers: Harry Brooks; Jelly Roll Morton.
This well-assembled, budget-priced, four-CD set highlights the exemplary mid-period clarinet and soprano saxophone work of the legendary jazz musician Sidney Bechet, including the hot jazz of the traditional "Maple Leaf Rag," traditional gospel numbers like "The Old Ark Is Moverin'," and lovely, relaxed blues solos on "Preachin' Blues" (also known as "A Married Man's a Fool") and "Milk Cow Blues."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sidney Bechet

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 93,404
  • UPC: 788065903329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.80/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)