Herbie Hancock The Warner Bros. Years 1969-1972 (3-CD)

The Warner Bros. Years 1969-1972 (3-CD)
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  39WYS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: August 5, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Wiggle-Waggle
  • 2.Fat Mama
  • 3.Tell Me a Bedtime Story
  • 4.Oh! Oh! Here He Comes
  • 5.Jessica
  • 6.Fat Albert Rotunda
  • 7.Lil' Brother
  • 8.Wiggle-Waggle - (mono)
  • 9.Fat Mama - (mono)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ostinato [Suite For Angela]
  • 2.You'll Know When You Get There
  • 3.Wandering Spirit Song
  • 4.Ostinato [Suite For Angela] [Promo Edit] - (previously unreleased)
  • 5.You'll Know When You Get There [Promo Edit] - (previously unreleased)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Sleeping Giant
  • 2.Quasar
  • 3.Water Torture
  • 4.Crossings
  • 5.Water Torture

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Bob Gluck.
Recording information: Different Fur Trading Company, San Francisco; Pacific Recording Studios, San Mateo; Van Gelder Recording Studios, Englewood Cliffs, New Jer; Wally Heider Recording Studios, San Francisco, Californ.
Photographer: Bonnie Schiffman.
Herbie Hancock's three albums for Warner Bros have been compiled before, most notably in Mwandishi: The Complete Warner Bros. Recordings in 1994. The individual titles have been reissued in various editions and formats since that time. There are several things that separate this volume (issued by Rhino) from its predecessor. The first is the package. The clamshell case contains each disc in its own cardboard sleeve with original artwork. It also contains a lengthy essay by Bob Gluck, author of You'll Know When You Get There: Herbie Hancock & the Mwandishi Band. This set compiles not only the recordings proper, but also alternate takes, promo edits -- both Mwandishi and Crossings contained three long tracks each -- and a bonus track. Fat Albert Rotunda -- developed from a handful of tracks cut for Bill Cosby's Fat Albert cartoon show -- contains alternates of "Wiggle Waggle" and "Fat Mama." Issued in 1969, this funky soul-jazz session featured saxophonist Joe Henderson, trumpeter Johnny Coles, trombonist Garnett Brown, bassist Buster Williams, and Albert "Tootie" Heath on drums in the main group, with trumpeter Joe Newman, saxophonist Joe Farrell, guitarist Eric Gale, and drummer Bernard Purdie guesting on several cuts. Disc two is the Mwandishi Band proper on its self-titled debut from 1970: only Williams and Hancock return from the previous date, joined by Bennie Maupin on reeds and winds, trumpeter Eddie Henderson, trombonist Julian Priester, and drummer Billy Hart. Various guitarists -- including Ronnie Montrose and Leon "Ndugu" Chancler -- also guest. This disc includes promo edits for "Ostinato (Suite for Angela)" and "You'll Know When You Get There" as bonus cuts. Crossings, issued in 1972, added a further bandmember in synth player Dr. Patrick Gleeson -- originally intended as a sideman, Hancock was so impressed with his contributions he asked him to join, though he only remained for this recording. The bonus material features the heavily edited (though no less hip) single version of "Water Torture" and the set's treasure piece: the rare, non-album promo single "Crossings," a spacy, funky groover that revealed the future direction of the band which would record Sextant for Columbia a year later. This is the first time the bonus material from Mwandishi and Crossings has been made available. While Fat Albert Rotunda is a blast in terms of its groove quotient, the final two recordings, with their more complex, dissonant, and open explorations, are essential not only for any Hancock fan, but for lovers of '70s electric jazz. The recordings are still the most under-celebrated classics in the artist's catalog. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Herbie Hancock

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227959043
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)