Louis Armstrong Jazz Is Back in Grand Rapids (Live)

Jazz Is Back in Grand Rapids (Live)
1 rating
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  35EJK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 21, 2003
  • Label: Ghb Records


  • 1.When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  • 2.Back Home Again In Indiana
  • 3.Gypsy
  • 4.Ole Miss
  • 5.Tin Roof Blues
  • 6.My Bucket's Got A Hole In It
  • 7.Perdido
  • 8.Dardanella
  • 9.How High Is The Moon?
  • 10.Mack The Knife
  • 11.Margie
  • 12.Blues A La Hey Rob-A-Bebob
  • 13.That's My Desire
  • 14.Kokomo
  • 15.When The Saints Go Marching In

Product Description:

& His All Stars.
Personnel includes: Louis Armstrong (vocals, cornet); Edmond Hall, Trummy Young, Billy Kyle, Arvell Shaw, Barrett Deems, Velma Middleton.
Recorded live at the Civic Auditorium, Grand Rapids, Michigan, March 26, 1956.
This previously unreleased concert by Louis Armstrong & His All-Stars is a historical gem. Recorded on March 26, 1956, at the Civic Auditorium in Grand Rapids, MI, it affords jazz fans a chance to hear what the barnstorming Armstrong's shows were like in heartland America, since the whole concert is presented here, with decent sound and only minimally intrusive crowd noise. Armstrong's affable presence is pervasive, but not always center stage, as each member of the All-Stars gets his turn in the course of the revue. Bass player Arvell Shaw, in particular, shines on "How High the Moon," and his playing on "Mack the Knife" is another highlight. The Brecht song is a perfect vehicle for Armstrong's singing style and his penchant for treating words like they were a string of notes in one of his amazing horn solos. Longtime Armstrong duet partner Velma Middleton gets a solo turn on the hard-shouted "Blues … la Hey Bob-A-Rebob" and joins Armstrong for two semi-comedic duets on "That's My Desire" and "Kokomo." While this disc can hardly be deemed essential, it is still a joy to listen to, and when viewed as a historical document of Louis Armstrong and his band at a very particular place and time, well, it is darn near priceless. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Louis Armstrong

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247650027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)