Sun Ra Live In Nickelsdorf 1984 (3-CD)

Live In Nickelsdorf 1984 (3-CD)
Price: $33.28
List Price: $36.98
You Save: $3.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  39W35
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Trost

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Untitled Improvisation
  • Buy for $0.992.Discipline 27-II/Children of the Sun
  • Buy for $0.993.Nuclear War
  • Buy for $0.994.Unidentified Blues
  • Buy for $0.995.Sophisticated Lady
  • Buy for $0.996.East of the Sun
  • Buy for $0.997.Springtime Again
  • Buy for $0.998.Yeah Man!
  • Buy for $0.999.Mack the Knife
  • Buy for $0.9910.Day Dream

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Love in Outer Space
  • 2.Space Is the Place / We Travel the Spaceways / No News Is Good News / Outer Spaceways Incorporated / Closing Announcment 1st Set
  • 3.Space Infinity Drum Intro 2nd Set
  • 4.Pleiades
  • 5.Untitled Improvisation, Pt. 1
  • 6.Untitled Improvisation, Pt. 2
  • 7.Untitled Improvisation, Pt. 3
  • 8.Piano Solo
  • 9.'Round Midnight
  • 10.Unidentified Blues
  • 11.Happy as the Day Is Long
  • 12.Carefree

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Big John's Special
  • 2.Days of Wine and Roses
  • 3.What's New?
  • 4.Fate in a Pleasant Mood
  • 5.Fate in a Pleasant Mood, Pt. 2
  • 6.Retrospect
  • 7.Enlightenment / Strange Mathematics / Rhythmic Equations

Product Description:

Personnel: James Jackson (vocals, flute, bassoon, drums); John Gilmore (vocals, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Sun Ra (vocals, piano, synthesizer); Marshall Allen (kora, flute, alto saxophone, percussion); Danny Ray Thompson (flute, baritone saxophone, percussion); Eloe Omoe (bass clarinet, alto saxophone, percussion); Ronnie Brown (trumpet); Don Mumford (drums); Matthew Brown (congas).
Liner Note Author: Sun Ra.
Recording information: Nickelsdorf (03/11/1984).
Illustrator: Karin Weinhandl.
Photographers: Alfred Pahr; Karl Peck.
The interplanetary jazz travelers of Sun Ra's Arkestra reached transcendent heights over the many decades their free music spanned. Live in Nickelsdorf 1984 finds a particularly spirited lineup of the Arkestra simmering through an almost three-hour set at an Austrian jazz festival. The band, featuring key Arkestra players John Gilmore, Marshall Allen, Rollo Radford, Don Mumford, and of course Ra himself, runs through brilliant versions of almost 30 tunes. The set is heavy on improvisation and also includes standards like "Space Is the Place" and "Fate in a Pleasant Mood" as well as the cautionary groove of "Nuclear War." ~ Fred Thomas

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sun Ra

Product Info

  • UPC: 9120036681620
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)