Albert Ammons Boogie Woogie Man [ASV / Living Era]

Boogie Woogie Man [ASV / Living Era]
8 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33Q4Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 22, 1999
  • Label: Asv Living Era


  • 1.Boogie Woogie Stomp
  • 2.Early Mornin' Blues
  • 3.Boogie Woogie Prayer, Pt. 1
  • 4.Boogie Woogie Prayer, Pt. 2
  • 5.Shout for Joy
  • 6.Boogie Woogie Blues
  • 7.Woo Woo
  • 8.Mighty Blues
  • 9.St. Louis Blues
  • 10.Bass Goin' Crazy
  • 11.Boogie Woogie
  • 12.Chicago in Mind
  • 13.Caf‚ Society Rag
  • 14.Boogie Woogie Man
  • 15.Barrelhouse Boogie
  • 16.Cuttin' the Boogie
  • 17.Sixth Avenue Express
  • 18.Blues in the Groove
  • 19.The Breaks
  • 20.Jammin' the Boogie
  • 21.Bottom Blues
  • 22.Bedroom Blues
  • 23.Swanee River Boogie

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Albert Ammons (piano); Joe Turner, Sippie Wallace (vocals); Dalbert Bright (alto saxophone, clarinet); Artie Starks (alto saxophone); Don Byas (tenor saxophone); Guy Kelly, Harry James, Frankie Newton, Hot Lips Page (trumpet); J.C. Higginbotham, Vic Dickenson (trombone); Meade Lux Lewis, Pete Johnson (piano); Ike Perkins, Teddy Bunn, Lonnie Johnson (guitar); Israel Crosby, Johnny Williams, John Lindsay (bass); Jimmy Hoskins, Eddie Dougherty, Sid Catlett, Tom Taylor, Jack Cooley (drums).
Recorded between 1936 and 1946. Includes liner notes by Vic Bellerby.
Personnel: Albert Ammons (piano); Big Joe Turner (vocals); Ike Perkins, Lonnie Johnson, Teddy Bunn (guitar); Dalbert Bright (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Artie Starks (alto saxophone); Don Byas (tenor saxophone); Frankie Newton, Harry James, Hot Lips Page, Guy Kelly (trumpet); J.C. Higginbotham, Vic Dickenson (trombone); Meade "Lux" Lewis, Pete Johnson (piano); Eddie Dougherty, Jimmie Hoskins, Jack Cooley, Big Sid Catlett, Tom Taylor (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Tony Watts; Vic Bellerby.
Recording information: 01/13/1936-02/12/1944.
Arrangers: Horace Alexander Young; Albert Ammons.
Whereas most of the finer boogie woogie pianists went unrecorded and were therefore lost to history, the great Ammons cut several sides during his time and helped preserve this vibrant music for posterity. THE BOOGIE WOOGIE MAN, recorded between 1938 and 1946, encapsulates the rich and earthy spirit that made Ammons the master of the boogie woogie style. The primitive recording technology of the time offers our only link to this bygone era, but Ammons' pumping left hand and seemingly tireless right hand transcend such limitations.
Ammons is joined here on several cuts by some of the most notable musicians of the time, including J.C. Higginbotham (trombone), Sid Catlett (drums), Don Byas (saxophone), and Hot Lips Page (trumpet). But it is the solo performances and Ammons' piano duos and trios with Meade Lux Lewis and Pete Johnson that ignite the most fire and really show what boogie woogie piano is all about.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Albert Ammons

Product Info

  • UPC: 743625530520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)