Gershwin Jazz
by Various Artists

Gershwin Jazz
3 ratings
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 24990
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.I Got Rhythm - Benny Goodman Sextet
  • 2.Oh! Lady, Be Good - Jones-Smith Inc./Count Basie
  • 3.Let's Call The Whole Thing Off - Billie Holiday
  • 4.Nice Work If You Can Get It - Sarah Vaughan
  • 5.'S Wonderful - Ruby Braff
  • 6.Our Love Is Here To Stay - J.J. Johnson
  • 7.Man I Love, The - Erroll Garner
  • 8.Who Cares? - Stan Getz
  • 9.Bess, You Is My Woman Now - Teddy Wilson & His Trio
  • 10.I've Got A Crush On You - Ella Fitzgerald
  • 11.It Ain't Necessarily So - Miles Davis
  • 12.Liza (All The Clouds'll Rollaway) - Thelonious Monk
  • 13.How Long Has This Been Goin' On? - Dexter Gordon
  • 14.Someone To Watch Over Me - Marcus Roberts
  • 15.Summertime - George Benson
  • 16.Somebody Loves Me - Roy Eldridge All-Stars

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
All tracks have been digitally remastered using 20-bit technology.
This record features jazz performers putting their own spin on one of American history's greatest composers. His music cuts across stylistic boundaries: the traditional, the modern, the avant-garde. Musicians of all backgrounds and genres, from Duke Ellington to Elvis Costello, have taken off their clothes and skinny-dipped in the ocean of Gershwin's music for tunes and/or inspiration.
This collection spotlights swing-era performers (Benny Goodman, Teddy Wilson), modern mainstream (J.J. Johnson, Errol Garner, Stan Getz), innovators (Thelonious Monk, Miles Davis), and singers beyond era or category: Billie Holiday, Sarah Vaughan, Ella Fitzgerald. If your taste tends more towards jazzy interpretations of popular song but you don't yet know Gershwin's music, this is a great get-acquainted point (and a good intro to the spectrum of jazz in general).

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 886972499024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)