The Jam Sound Affects [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

Sound Affects [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
38 ratings
Price: $33.28
List Price: $36.98
You Save: $3.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  S7S2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 8, 2010
  • Label: Polydor UK

Entertainment Reviews:

CMJ - 1/5/04, p.8
Ranked #18 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1981"
Mojo (Publisher) - p.114
5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] stripped-down classic that mixed witty Kinksy songsmithery with atonal, post-punk psychedelic experimentation."
NME (Magazine) - 10/2/93, p.29
Ranked #79 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of All Time.'
NME (Magazine) - 9/25/93, p.19
Ranked #7 in NME's list of the '50 Greatest Albums Of The '80s' - "...[SOUND AFFECTS] contains three of [Paul Weller's] greatest songs--'That's Entertainment,' 'Start' and 'Man In The Corner.' A bold, brilliant album..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.89
4 stars out of 5 -- "SOUND AFFECTS saw them rise to the challenge with boldness and inspiration..."
Uncut (magazine) - p.99
4 stars out of 5 -- "There are lots of jangly guitars, harmonies and mid-'60s brass....A Jam album strongly influenced by the music of 1966."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Pretty Green
  • 2.Monday
  • 3.But I'm Different Now
  • 4.Set the House Ablaze
  • 5.Start!
  • 6.That's Entertainment
  • 7.Dream Time
  • 8.Man in the Corner Shop
  • 9.Music for the Last Couple
  • 10.Boy About Town
  • 11.Scrape Away

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Start! [Single Version]
  • 2.Liza Radley
  • 3.The Dreams of Children
  • 4.That's Entertainment - (alternate take)
  • 5.Pretty Green - (previously unreleased)
  • 6.Pop Art Poem
  • 7.Rain
  • 8.Boy About Town - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Dream Time
  • 10.Dead End Street - (remix)
  • 11.But I'm Different Now
  • 12.Scrape Away - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Start! - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Liza Radley
  • 15.And Your Bird Can Sing
  • 16.Monday - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • 17.Get Yourself Together - (remix)
  • 18.Set the House Ablaze - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • 19.Boy About Town - (alternate take)
  • 20.No One in the World
  • 21.'Instrumental' - (previously unreleased)
  • 22.Waterloo Sunset - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

The Jam: Paul Weller, Bruce Foxton, Rick Buckler.
Audio Remasterer: Tibor Pecsi.
Liner Note Author: John Harris .
Photographers: Andrew Douglas; Martyn Goddard; Pennie Smith; Andrew Rosen.
While other first-generation British punk bands embraced art and nihilism, the Jam offered working-class soul--solid, honest rhythms that were a ray of hope to the country's recession-racked youth. SOUND AFFECTS was released at the height of the Jam's popularity, and found frontman Paul Weller at his songwriting peak. Equally as influenced by Motown as by punk, Weller's songs defy categorization. While "Start!" (a No. 1 hit in England) is as upbeat as the best James Brown, the driving instrumentation of "Set The House Ablaze," "Monday" and "Boy About Town" bears comparison to the the early Who. There are even ska echoes on "Music For The Last Couple."
But the most enduring quality of these songs is their humanism. Even through Weller's early flirtation with Toryism, his deep concern for Britain's dispossessed was evident. "That's Entertainment" and "Man In The Corner Shop" speak of an England that everyone, from scooter-gangs to businessmen, can relate to. It was this everyman appeal, this boy-next-door earnestness, that a generation of British youth rallied around.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 38 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Jam

Product Info

  • UPC: 600753306789
  • Shipping Weight: 0.31/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)