T. Rex The Slider [40th Anniversary Box] (2-CD + DVD + LP + 2-7" + Book)

The Slider [40th Anniversary Box] (2-CD + DVD +
Price: $224.09
List Price: $248.99
You Save: $24.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  9GWV
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: December 11, 2012
  • Label: Edsel Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Now remastered for the first time by Tony Visconti, this classic album -- released in July 1972 on the back of three chart-topping T.Rex LPs -- provides a perfect snapshot of the era the press dubbed 'T. Rextasy' and is proof of Bolan's extraordinary and enduring appeal across the generations.

The Slider contained two UK Number 1 hit singles, "Telegram Sam" and "Metal Guru" -- the latter famously regarded by Morrissey as "pop perfection". It was the first to bear the T. Rex Wax Co imprint, a seal of approval from EMI Records, who felt Bolan sufficiently important to warrant having his own record label.

On the accompanying DVD, Tony Visconti recalls the making of the album in an exclusive new 105-minute interview with Bolan biographer Mark Paytress. The DVD also features TV footage including performances of "Telegram Sam" and "Metal Guru" from Top Of The Pops, ITV performance footage of "Cadilac", "Spaceball Ricochet" and "Telegram Sam", plus Marc's interview with Russell Harty from 1972. Rounding off the DVD is footage of Marc Bolan and Mickey Finn visiting EMI's pressing plant, a TV advert for The Slider and a US promotional film of "Buick Mackane".

Tony Visconti has also written a special essay for the 48-page hardback coffee-table book included in the box, which also features a 6,000-word essay by Paytress, rare photos and reproductions of archive material. Also included in the set, which comes in a sturdy 12" x 12" box, is a 180g vinyl pressing of the original album, its two spin-off singles and a repro of the hugely collectable promo-only "Chariot Choogle" 45, all in facsimile T. Rex Wax Co paper sleeves.

Rounding off the package is a 40-page book of the sheet music for every song on the album, an A2 poster, sticker, plastic carrier bag, sew-on patch and facsimiles of an original Bolan fan club letter, membership card, rosette and concert ticket.

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 8/94, p.128
4 Stars - Excellent

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Metal Guru
  • 2.Mystic Lady
  • 3.Rock On
  • 4.The Slider
  • 5.Baby Boomerang
  • 6.Spaceball Ricochet
  • 7.Buick Mackane
  • 8.Telegram Sam
  • 9.Rabbit Fighter
  • 10.Baby Strange
  • 11.Ballrooms of Mars
  • 12.Chariot Choogle
  • 13.Main Man

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Cadilac
  • 2.Thunderwing
  • 3.Lady
  • 4.Rock On [demo]
  • 5.The Slider [acoustic]
  • 6.Buick Mackane [demo]
  • 7.Sugar Baby (Rabbit Fighter) [demo]
  • 8.Baby Strange [electric solo demo, incomplete]
  • 9.Slider Blues [solo demo]
  • 10.Buick Mackane II [Slider outtake]
  • 11.Baby Strange [US radio session]
  • 12.Ballrooms of Mars [US radio session]
  • 13.The Slider [acoustic demo]
  • 14.Radio interview, 1974

Product Description:

The 1997 reissue of THE SLIDER features 3 additional tracks that did not appear on the original release; "Cadillac," "Thunderwing" and "Lady."
Marc Bolan/T. Rex: Marc Bolan (vocals, guitar); Mickey Finn (vocals, percussion, congas) Steve Currie (bass); Bill Legend (drums).
Additional personnel: Howard Kaylan, Mark Volman (background vocals).
Recorded at Chateau D'Herouville, Paris, France and Rosenberg Studios, Copenhagen, Denmark. Includes liner notes by Mark Paytress.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Marc Bolan (vocals, guitar); Mickey Finn (vocals, congas); Tony Visconti (strings, Mellotron, background vocals); Bill Legend (drums); Howard Kaylan, Mark Volman (background vocals).
Audio Remasterers: Ted Jensen; Tony Visconti.
Liner Note Authors: Mark Paytress; Marc Bolan; Tony Visconti.
Recording information: Air Studios, London (02/14/1972); Chateau D'Herouville, Paris (02/14/1972); Rosenberg Studios, Copenhagen (02/14/1972).
Photographers: Barry Plummer; Keith Morris ; Ringo Starr.
Although 1971's ELECTRIC WARRIOR was the first album on which all the pieces finally came together for marc Bolan and T. Rex, the follow-up, THE SLIDER was Bolan's masterpiece. The album on which Bolan's characteristically inscrutable, hippy-dippy lyrics were perfectly balanced with crunchy glam-rock guitar riffs and great, whomping drum fills, THE SLIDER is a masterpiece of glam boogie. It spawned two of Bolan's biggest singles, "Metal Guru" and "Telegram Sam" (the latter of which just might be the best song Bolan ever wrote). The David Bowie tribute "Main Man" and the goofy rockabilly giggle "Baby Strange," as well as the more delicate title track, are all up to that level as well. This reissue includes three bonus tracks, the surprisingly worthwhile 1972 demos "Cadillac," "Thunderwing," and "Lady" that are formative glimpses at how wildly productive Marc Bolan was during this period of his career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for T. Rex

Product Info

  • UPC: 740155400736
  • Shipping Weight: 5.62/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)