Peter, Paul and Mary Live in Japan 1967 (2-CD)

Live in Japan 1967 (2-CD)
16 copies available
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  X7Q7
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: December 11, 2012
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Sometime Lovin'
  • 2.No Other Name
  • 3.Another Side Of This Life
  • 4.The Good Times We Had
  • 5.Paultalk
  • 6.Puff, The Magic Dragon
  • 7.Sergei's Blues
  • 8.For Baby (For Bobby)
  • 9.If I Had My Way
  • 10.Don't Think Twice, It's Alright
  • 11.If I Had A Hammer
  • 12.This Land Is Your Land

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.When The Ship Comes In
  • 2.500 Miles
  • 3.Lemon Tree
  • 4.Shule Aru
  • 5.Hurry Sundown
  • 6.Well, Well, Well
  • 7.San Francisco Bay Blues
  • 8.It's Raining
  • 9.When I Die
  • 10.Where Have All The Flowers Gone
  • 11.Blowin' In The Wind
  • 12.The Times They Are A Changin'

Product Description:

Personnel: Peter Yarrow (vocals, guitar, 12-string guitar); Noel Paul Stookey (vocals, guitar); Mary Travers (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Kevin Salem.
Liner Note Author: Barry Alfonso.
Recording information: Kousei Nenkin Hall, Shinjuku, Tokyo, JP (01/16/1967); Kyoto Kaikan Hall, Kyoto, JP (01/16/1967); Kousei Nenkin Hall, Shinjuku, Tokyo, JP (01/17/1967); Kyoto Kaikan Hall, Kyoto, JP (01/17/1967).
Photographer: Hideyuki Mihasi.
Translator: Atsuko Makino.
Peter, Paul and Mary may not have pleased the folk purists very much, but the trio did as much as anyone to bring folk music to a commercial peak in the early '60s, and by championing new songwriters like Bob Dylan, Fred Neil, and John Denver, among others, and sticking up for rock (even though rock wasn't even close to what they did), the group showed a sharp sense of time and era. The trio toured Japan in December of 1967, with concerts in both Tokyo and Kyoto, and released a live album there drawn from the two shows -- the album was never released in the U.S. This two-disc set makes up for that, with the original album on disc one and a dozen additional tracks from the two shows that were discovered on the original master tapes making up the second disc. It's a pretty standard Peter, Paul and Mary set for the time, featuring the trio's signature versions of "Puff, the Magic Dragon," Pete Seeger's "If I Had a Hammer," and Bob Dylan's "Blowin' in the Wind," among others, including a nice version of Fred Neil's "The Other Side of This Life," and it's nicely recorded, full of good will, energy, and the trio's trademark vocal harmonies. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Peter, Paul and Mary

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 109,613
  • UPC: 603497927753
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)