Looking Into You: A Tribute To Jackson Browne (2-CD)

by Various Artists
Looking Into You: A Tribute To Jackson Browne
19% OFF
Rating 4.3
6 ratings
List Price: $24.98
Sale Price: $22.48
CYBER SALE: $20.23 Limited Time Only
You Save: $4.75 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  MROA 18
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for a Gift Card or an e-mail Gift Certificate

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Label: Music Road

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.These Days - Don Henley - (featuring Blind Pilot)
  • 2.Everywhere I Go - David Lindley / Bonnie Raitt
  • 3.Running on Empty
  • 4.Fountain of Sorrow
  • 5.Doctor My Eyes
  • 6.For Everyman
  • 7.Barricades of Heaven
  • 8.Our Lady of the Well
  • 9.Jamaica Say You Will
  • 10.Before the Deluge
  • 11.For a Dancer
  • 12.Looking into You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rock Me on the Water
  • 2.The Pretender
  • 3.Rosie
  • 4.Something Fine - Karla Bonoff
  • 5.Too Many Angels - (featuring Joan as Police Woman)
  • 6.Your Bright Baby Blues - Sean & Sara Watkins / Sean Watkins / Sara Watkins
  • 7.Linda Paloma - Bruce Springsteen
  • 8.Call It a Loan - Shawn Colvin
  • 9.I'm Alive
  • 10.Late for the Sky
  • 11.My Opening Farewell

Product Description:

Tributee: Jackson Browne.
Tributee: Jackson Browne.
Recording information: Cedar Creek recording, Austin, TX; Flora Recording and Playback, Portland, OR; His House Studio, New York, NY; Lennon Music Studios; Moraine Studios, Nashville, TN; Ocean Way Studios, Hollywood, CA; Paragon Studios, Nashville, TN; Phantom Powers Studio; Stone Hill Studio; Stu Stu Studio, Franklin, TN; Studio 5109; The Machine Shop; The Maid's Room, New York, NY; Tree Sound Studios, Norcross, GA.
Photographer: Pete Lacker.
Split fairly neatly between his contemporaries and those who followed in his footsteps, Looking into You: A Tribute to Jackson Browne is a generous tribute to the quintessential singer/songwriter, running 23 songs over the course of two CDs. In all that space, the producers don't find much room for Browne's lighter moments -- his new wave and soft rock flirtations of the early '80s are absent, there's no "Somebody's Baby" or "Tender Is the Night," nor is the road warrior of Running on Empty emphasized, although Texan homebody Bob Schneider sings the title track -- and the predilection for ruminative introspection eventually gets a little heavy, but on a track-by-track basis this collection is very good. Perhaps Browne's contemporaries fare the best -- Bonnie Raitt and David Lindley team for a fine "Everywhere I Go," J.D. Souther sings "My Opening Farewell," Bruce Springsteen and wife Patti Scialfa team for "Linda Paloma," and Karla Bonoff resurfaces with "Something Fine" -- but there are also nice turns by Lyle Lovett ("Our Lady of the Well"), Paul Thorn ("Doctor My Eyes"), Sean & Sara Watkins ("Your Bright Baby Blues"), and the surprise duo of Joan as Police Woman and Marc Cohn ("Too Many Angels"). If there are no knockouts here, the sly, subtle approach also emphasizes the fine craft of Browne, which is a nice thing to say about a tribute album. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 128,100
  • UPC: 805859048421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

Top ranking CD: