Sweetback Sisters Looking for a Fight

Looking for a Fight
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.72 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $2.26 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  34Y7H
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Signature Sounds


  • Buy for $0.991.Love Me, Honey, Do
  • Buy for $0.992.Texas Bluebonnets
  • Buy for $0.993.It Won't Hurt When I Fall Down From This Barstool
  • Buy for $0.994.Looking for a Fight
  • Buy for $0.995.Run Home and Cry
  • Buy for $0.996.The Mystery of You
  • Buy for $0.997.Don't Put Her Down, You Helped Put Her There
  • Buy for $0.998.Thank You
  • Buy for $0.999.The Heart of My Mind
  • Buy for $0.9910.Rattled
  • Buy for $0.9911.Home
  • Buy for $0.9912.Too Many Experts
  • Buy for $0.9913.Cowboy Ham and Eggs

Product Description:

Personnel: Emily Miller, Zara Bode (vocals); Jesse Milnes (acoustic guitar); Ross Bellenoit (electric guitar); Peter Bitenc (upright bass); Stefan Amidon (drums).
Audio Mixer: Devin Greenwood.
Recording information: Saltlands Studio, Brooklyn, NY; The Honey Jar, Brooklyn, NY.
Photographer: Zara Bode.
The Sweetback Sisters, a sextet of unrelated musicians only two of whom -- co-lead singers Zara Bode and Emily Miller -- are female, deliver their second album in Looking for a Fight, once again revealing themselves as a talented retro-country tribute band. Based in Brooklyn, the group embraces many styles of traditional country music, some of them in forms already revived once before in these songs. In addition to Western swing (the Sons of the Pioneers' "Cowboy Ham and Eggs") and countrypolitan (the Patsy Cline evergreen "Love Me, Honey, Do"), for example, they cover neo-Tex-Mex (Laurie Lewis' "Texas Bluebonnets"), neo-Bakersfield sound (Dwight Yoakam's "It Won't Hurt When I Fall Down from This Bar Stool"), and neo-rockabilly (the Traveling Wilburys' "Rattled"). They also write their own country songs, with a downhearted cry-in-your-beer honky tonk flavor as well as more amusing observations from the barroom, notably guitarist Jesse Milnes' "Too Many Experts" (which is one of the things one can encounter in a bar). Bode and Miller are equally effective frontwomen, with Bode taking some of the more assertive numbers, such as Milnes' title song, and Miller the sweeter ones, and they harmonize well together. The Sweetback Sisters achieve the difficult task of approaching their frankly old-fashioned music with an enthusiasm that is not devoid of humor, yet never descends into parody. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Sweetback Sisters

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 93,708
  • UPC: 701237203829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)