The Blackbyrds City Life / Unfinished Business

City Life / Unfinished Business
11 ratings
Price: $11.39
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $0.59 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  34Y3W
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Fantasy


  • Buy for $0.991.Rock Creek Park
  • Buy for $0.992.Thankful 'Bout Yourself
  • Buy for $0.993.City Life
  • Buy for $0.994.All I Ask
  • Buy for $0.995.Happy Music
  • Buy for $0.996.Love So Fine
  • Buy for $0.997.Flying High
  • Buy for $0.998.Hash And Eggs
  • Buy for $0.999.Time Is Movin'
  • Buy for $0.9910.In Life
  • Buy for $0.9911.Enter In
  • Buy for $0.9912.You've Got That Something
  • Buy for $0.9913.Party Land
  • Buy for $0.9914.Lady
  • Buy for $0.9915.Unfinished Business

Product Description:

Personnel: Kenny Moore, Mildred Lane, Jim Gilstrap, John Lehman, Myrna Matthews, Marti McCall, Charlie Barnett (vocals); Orville Sanders, Ray Parker, Jr. (guitar); Wesley Jackson (flute, saxophone); Jackie Kelso, William Green (flute, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Ernie Watts (flute); Tommy Morgan (harmonica); Chuck Findley, Gary Grant, Nolan Andrew Smith, Steve Madaio (trumpet); Marilyn Robinson, Alan Robinson , Vincent DeRosa (French horn); George Bohanon, Charles Loper (trombone); Lew McCreary (bass trombone); Kevin Toney (keyboards); Keith Killgo (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Audio Remixers: David Hassinger ; Jim Nipar.
Liner Note Author: Larry Kelp.
Photographer: Gerald Panopoulos.
Unknown Contributor Role: Stephen Johnson.
Arrangers: Chuck Findley; Gary Grant; Nolan Andrew Smith; Steve Madaio; Wade Marcus.
This reissue combines two of the Blackbyrds' classic albums, City Life from 1975 and Unfinished Business from 1976, on a single 74-minute CD. To be sure, "classic" isn't a word that many jazz purists have used to describe the albums -- when Donald Byrd produced them, bop's hard-liners were denouncing the Clifford Brown-influenced trumpeter as a shameless sellout and insisting that he should have stuck to straight-ahead acoustic jazz. But then, the Blackbyrds weren't going after jazz purists -- their music was soul, funk, and disco with jazz overtones, and the people who bought their albums were more likely to be into Earth, Wind & Fire and Tower of Power than Sonny Stitt or Art Blakey. Unlike Stevie Wonder, Gil Scott-Heron, Marvin Gaye, the O'Jays, and Curtis Mayfield, the Blackbyrds didn't get into a lot of heavy sociopolitical messages; their forte was party music, and it is that escapist, feel-good mindset that defines the infectious hits "Happy Music" and "Rock Creek Park" (both from City Life) as well as memorable album tracks such as the mellow "Love So Fine" from City Life and the insistently funky "Party Land" from Unfinished Business. Calling this music escapist isn't saying that it's faceless or mechanical -- far from it. The Blackbyrds' party-time lyrics may not have been challenging, but musically, the band was creative, risk-taking, and distinctive. Even though they were primarily a soul/funk/disco outfit, the Blackbyrds came from jazz backgrounds -- and that jazz influence often works to their creative advantage on this excellent reissue. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Blackbyrds

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 52,724
  • UPC: 025218245128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)