Fela Kuti The Complete Works of Fela Anikulapo Kuti (27-CD)

The Complete Works of Fela Anikulapo Kuti (27-CD)
List Price: $149.98
Price: $134.98
You Save: $15 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (27 Discs)
sku:  QF8Y
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 27
  • Released: November 20, 2012
  • Label: Megaforce

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Open and Close
  • 2.Swegbe and Pako
  • 3.Gbagada Gbagada Gbogodo Gbogodo
  • 4.Alu Jon Jonki Jon
  • 5.Jeun Ko Ku (Chop 'n Quench)
  • 6.Eko Ile
  • 7.Je'Nwi Temi (Don't Gag Me)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.J.J.D.
  • 2.Unnecessary Begging
  • 3.No Buredi

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Zombie
  • 2.Mister Follow Follow
  • 3.Observation Is No Crime
  • 4.Mistake

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Underground System
  • 2.Pansa Pansa
  • 3.Confusion Break Bones

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Let's Start
  • 2.Black Man's Cry
  • 3.Ye Ye de Smell
  • 4.Edge Mi O
  • 5.Ginger Baker and Tony Allen Drum Solo

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.M.O.P. (Moment of the People) Political Statement 1
  • 2.You Gimme Shit I Give You Shit
  • 3.Custom Check Poin

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.V.I.P., Pts. 1-2
  • 2.Authority Stealing, Pts. 1-2

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • 1.Yellow Fever
  • 2.Na Poi [1975 Version]
  • 3.Na Poi, Pts. 1-2
  • 4.You No Go Die...Unless

Tracks on Disc 9:

  • 1.Alagbon Close
  • 2.I No Get Eye for Back
  • 3.Why Black Man Dey Suffer
  • 4.Ikoyi Mentality Versus Mushin' Mentality

Tracks on Disc 10:

  • 1.Monkey Banana
  • 2.Sense Wiseness
  • 3.Excuse O
  • 4.Mr. Grammarticalogyisationalism Is the Boss

Tracks on Disc 11:

  • 1.Everything Scatter
  • 2.Who No Know Go Know
  • 3.Noise for Vendor Mouth
  • 4.Mattress

Tracks on Disc 12:

  • 1.Teacher Don't Teach Me Nonsense
  • 2.Look and Laugh
  • 3.Just Like That

Tracks on Disc 13:

  • 1.Highlife Time
  • 2.Omuti Tide
  • 3.Ololufe Mi
  • 4.Wadele Wa Rohin
  • 5.Laise Lairo
  • 6.Wayo
  • 7.My Lady Frustration
  • 8.Viva Nigeria
  • 9.Obe
  • 10.Ako
  • 11.Witchcraft
  • 12.Wayo [2nd Version]
  • 13.Lover
  • 14.Funky Horn
  • 15.Eko
  • 16.This Is Sad

Tracks on Disc 14:

  • 1.Roforofo Fight
  • 2.Go Slow
  • 3.Question Jam Answer
  • 4.Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am
  • 5.Shenshema
  • 6.Ariya

Tracks on Disc 15:

  • 1.Confusion, Pts. 1-2
  • 2.Gentleman
  • 3.Fefe Naa Efe
  • 4.Igbe

Tracks on Disc 16:

  • 1.Lady
  • 2.Shakara
  • 3.J'ehin J'eehin
  • 4.Egbe Mi O
  • 5.Who're You
  • 6.Buy Africa
  • 7.Fight to Finish

Tracks on Disc 17:

  • 1.Expensive Shit
  • 2.Water No Get Enemy
  • 3.He Miss Road
  • 4.Monday Morning in Lagos
  • 5.It's No Possible

Tracks on Disc 18:

  • 1.Stalemate
  • 2.Don't Worry About My Mouth O
  • 3.Fear Not for Man
  • 4.Palm Wine Sound

Tracks on Disc 19:

  • 1.Ikoyi Blindness
  • 2.Gba Mi Leti Ki N'dolowo
  • 3.Kalakuta Show
  • 4.Don't Make Garan Garan

Tracks on Disc 20:

  • 1.Upside Down
  • 2.Go Slow
  • 3.2000 Blacks Got to Be Free
  • 4.Africa Centre of the World

Tracks on Disc 21:

  • 1.Beasts of No Nation
  • 2.O.D.O.O.

Tracks on Disc 22:

  • 1.Army Arrangement
  • 2.Government Chicken Boy

Tracks on Disc 23:

  • 1.Coffin for Head of State
  • 2.Unknown Soldier, Pts. 1-2

Tracks on Disc 24:

  • 1.Shuffering and Shmiling
  • 2.No Agreement
  • 3.Dog Eat Dog

Tracks on Disc 25:

  • 1.Opposite People
  • 2.Equalisation of Trouser and Pant
  • 3.Sorrow Tears and Blood
  • 4.Colonial Mentality

Tracks on Disc 26:

  • 1.Original Sufferhead
  • 2.Power Show
  • 3.I.T.T.

Tracks on Disc 27:

  • 1.A Slice of Fela

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Chris May; Jacqueline Grandchamp-Thiam; Rikki Stein.
Recording information: Amsterdam (11/28/1983).
Photographers: Bernard Matussiere; Howard Cash.
Even before his death in 1997, Fela Anikulapo Kuti was the stuff of legend as the creator of Afro-beat, and as a fierce political activist, outlaw, and outspoken voice for the oppressed not only in his native Nigeria, but throughout Africa. Though harassed, beaten, tortured, and imprisoned by his own country's oppressive military dictatorship, he could not be broken. Like Bob Marley's, Kuti's name has been synonymous with liberation. Since his passing he has even become the subject of a Broadway musical that bears his name and tours internationally. He is a bona fide folk hero. That said, it's his music that not only survives his legend, but is the largest part of what perpetuates it. In its salacious, infectious, polyrhythmic grooves, the anger, politics, and sexuality shake, quake, and roar from his first recordings to his last. His catalog has been issued in several incarnations at various times since his death. This particular box set from Wrasse contains all 26 albums, which were previously released by the label in three separate compilation groupings. Each disc is housed in its own mini-LP sleeve, bearing original cover art, and the set contains four booklets -- one for each grouping of albums and a brief biography in a booklet of its own. What's confusing, at least initially, is that the back of the box numbers the albums one through 26, while each booklet numbers them starting at one. In other words, discs ten and 19 both bear the number one and start again with their groupings. They correspond to the way the label initially released these albums. The box also contains a DVD entitled A Slice of Fela. It is a compilation narrated by Sahr Ngaujah that contains excerpts from various documentaries and live concerts. There are interviews with Kuti's biographer Carlos Moore and Fela the musical's co-writer and choreographer, Bill T. Jones. Obviously, this collection is for the hardcore Kuti fan who doesn't already have everything. That said, given its exceptionally reasonable price tag (a true bargain), it may appeal to others as well. Either way, it is a singular document, one that testifies to Kuti's authentic role as one of the great musical innovators of the 20th century. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Fela Kuti

Product Info

  • UPC: 720841500421
  • Shipping Weight: 1.60/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 27 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)